‘Classic Friday': Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott


Nisha:

My book review for Ivanhoe…

Originally posted on ArtiPeeps:

Classic Friday

Welcome to Classic Friday with Nisha Moodley, your monthly journey into Classic authors and their Literature!

Nisha MoodleyNisha is a South African writer, blogger, amateur historian, mystery-chaser and former ghost-hunter who, with a completed collection of short-stories under her belt, is currently working on her first full-length novel.

http://nmwritersbloq.wordpress.com

I hope you enjoy this ‘Classic Friday’ entry and I’ll be back next monthfor some more.

_________

ivanhoe-penguin-classicsTITLE: IVANHOE
AUTHOR: Sir Walter Scott
GENRE: Historical fiction
DATE PUBLISHED: 1820
NO.OF PAGES: 550 (My copy: Penguin Classics)

>>

This novel has been credited for influencing our current perceptions of the Middle Ages. A romantic medieval indulgence, Ivanhoe is also noted for perpetuating the famous Robin Hood legend and giving us the now popular attributes assigned to the famous outlaw. As a result Ivanhoe is probably the single most influential novel in the historical fiction genre.

>>>>

Brief Synopsis

>>>>
Set in…

View original 854 more words

5 thoughts on “‘Classic Friday': Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Nisha, when you were in Edinburgh did you ever go to the Writers Museum down The Royal Mile? It’s not that impressive but the two main authors it covers are Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson. It was the first time that I’d heard of Scott, I had no idea who he was! Lol. :)

    Great post as always!

    • Nisha says:

      You will be horrified to know that I didn’t. But if I did I don’t think I would have appreciated it back then. I wasn’t writing or reading much fiction back then so my priorities and interests were slightly different. I spent more time on ghost tours and visiting haunted castles than anything else :D
      I also heard of Scott for the first time when I went to Edinburgh. Of course how could anyone miss that giant-ass gothic structure dedicated to him on Princes Street? LOL, ha ha :D

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha not really, I only knew it was there because Katy posted about it when she did her trip posts. :) There’s not actually much there, some of it was just stuff in glass cases like, WE OWN STEVENSON’S RIDING BOOTS, OOOOH. A bit silly really. I learnt a few things though.

        Agh I so wanted to try a ghost tour but my friends weren’t really up for it, plus one was short on money. I definitely want to go back there again!

        LOL, too true. :D

  2. nelle says:

    As always, you’ve done superb work…

Leave a Reply

