Updates and returning to the classroom


It’s been 6 months since I’ve blogged and it bears testimony to the year I’ve had so far. I’m now on a break for a few weeks so I’ve decided to poke my head back into the blogosphere and say helloooooo…

Education-100166800

 As some of you already know, I’m studyimg for my Teaching qualification this year and last month I started my practicals.  It’s been 13 years since I last set foot in a classroom and the feeling has been surreal. Schools have just closed for the mid-year holidays hence my break. I’m now given the chance to reflect on what I’ve seen so far and I can safely say, it is definitely one of the most challenging experiences of my life.

I’m still not sure at this stage if I’m cut out to be a teacher. The idealist in me is perhaps disillusioned (long story about traditional teaching vs OBE, I won’t get into it now) but I still got two more months of practicals to do. I haven’t started developing my own lesson plans or properly conducting lessons as yet so maybe I’m being premature in my judgment. Time, perhaps, will be the better judge.

Hopefully I’ll have some stories to tell when this year is over and maybe it will inspire some fiction as well :D

I know I haven’t been keeping up-to-date with all of your blogs but I will try to catch up. In the meantime I hope you all are making progress on your WIP’s and reading some amazing books. I will try to squeeze in some blogposts in the next coming weeks if my brain can handle it. Until then, adios!

NM  :)

Above image courtesy of ammer / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

10 thoughts on “Updates and returning to the classroom

  1. Many, many years ago I thought I wanted to be a teacher. After more investigation, I realized I was not called into that area. I do admire the great teachers out there and am thankful for the life-changing ones who I had. These are great people but I believe they are they were called to this task. The mediocre ones were only warmed to it. Just my take.

    • Nisha says:

      I hear what you’re saying Marvin, it’s easy to see those who were called to the profession and those who never had their hearts in it, But I’ve also noticed that there are those experienced teachers who had/have the potential to be great but are either too lazy/stubborn/disillusioned.
      For me, this is more disappointing as a student to see.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    6 months, blimey! I thought it seemed like a long time.

    Glad to hear the studying is still going strong, I think teaching is one of the hardest jobs in the world. So much stress, time and energy goes into it and it can be hard to engage a class, especially it half the students don’t even want to be there. It’s so noticeable when you get a good teacher though. Don’t be too harsh on yourself, you’ll find your rhythm. It’s never easy at the start, that’s why it’s called learning! (I constantly have to remind myself of this because I’m always harsh on myself if I don’t get something straight away, it’s silly.) I think once you start lesson plans and teaching the class you will get much more of a feel for it.

    Good luck!

    • Nisha says:

      You know Becks, I keep hearing that statement, “Don’t be hard on yourself”, I expect too much of myself sometimes and I need to take that advice, as we all do!
      The one thing I do love so far is interacting with teenagers. It really is so refreshing and I feel adults don’t give them enough credit and underestimate them. My biggest insecurity, I guess, is whether I’ll be effective as a teacher or not but like another student teacher friend of mine told me, it does get easier. So yes, I’m counting on that! :D

  3. r e douville says:

    I’m a tad behind in my blog rounds as well, so I get it. :-)

    You will do great in education! Challenging is scary but good, it builds skill. No skill worth a damn comes to us in a day, it takes months to get started on the right road and years to hone, but once with you… once you have the accomplishments in your heart and mind and on your resume, it will be a point of pride.

    Best wishes!

    • Nisha says:

      That’s comforting to hear, Nelle. The criticism of our education system is proof that it’s not easy but hopefully the more I learn the easier and more effective I’ll be. Thanks for believing in me Nelle! :)

  4. Daniel says:

    I’ve missed you. I’ve been away for awhile, but I’m glad you’re still blogging – as of July. :)

Leave a Reply

