Deathly Hallows? Try Deathly Overkill. Would you want your book to be made into a movie?


DISCLAIMER: Please note that this blog post might contain SPOILERS. If you have not read the entire Harry Potter series in its entirety, I suggest you proceed to read with caution. NM will not be held responsible for any displeasure or heartache caused by the revelation of any pertinent information related to the final HP movie: the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

Cool. I always wanted my own disclaimer.
Anyways, with the release of Deathly Hallows Part 2 almost at our doorstep, I know one thing is inevitable. I will be dragged to the bloody movie theatre against my will to watch this abomination (once again) by the BF, who loves the Harry Potter movies but has never read the books.
And me? Don’t like the movie versions. Can’t stand them. They don’t do any justice to the books. If you’ve read the books, the movie versions don’t satisfy your expectations at all, leaving you completely unfulfilled (I really want to use a sexual metaphor here, but I won’t). In fact I always wonder how those who never read HP can understand what’s going on in the movies, when almost half the storyline and themes have been taken out. Well, I suppose it’s no different to watching a Steven Segal movie or the likes of.

All this got me thinking though. If I publish a novel and it becomes a hit, will I compromise my moral high ground and allow my precious creation to be butchered just so that I can leave my mark on Hollywood? Well, er, yes I think I would actually.
But my opinion doesn’t count. As a self-admitted nobody, its easy for me to say NOW that I would agree to a movie deal, but what if I were Ms. Rowling, who really didn’t have to agree to anything for she would be a billionaire anyway, even without the movies?
I read an interview with Irish horror writer John Connolly (whose already had 2 novels made into movies) a few years back and speaking about this very point, he admitted that he did not feel the least bit of shame and if more movie deals came his way, he would readily say ‘yes’.
Our favourite lady, like Connolly, doesn’t seem to have a problem with this either.
JK Rowling not only agreed to have the Harry Potter series made into movies, she seemed to have publicly endorsed them by getting actively involved herself.
For example, years back she had a one-on-one with Sir Alan Rickman (what? What do you mean he hasn’t been knighted?!) on the dynamics of Snape’s character. She had obviously divulged the ultimate secret of Snape’s past in order to help him with his performance. So while the whole world pondered about whether the Potions Master’s loyalties lay with Dumbledore or Voldemort, Rickman had already known about his love for Lily. Truth be told, the revelation of Snape’s past is the huge, fat, delicious cherry on the Harry Potter Sundae so I don’t blame Rowling for wanting to get involved. And it helps for Rickman’s performances in the previous movies were outstanding considering what we know already. Lets be honest, he’s the only thing worth watching in the HP movies. In fact, when I do eventually get dragged to the cinema, I will look forward to seeing him, if nothing else.
As much as I would love to sit here and rant about how I hate the HP movies, and as much as all those little HP movie-loving fans will be heartbroken when the ‘era’ is over, we all seem to be forgetting, or rather not realizing that its never really going to end. Because after the movie franchise, things just get worse.
BBC will get the rights to do a Harry Potter television series; Spielberg might just get his wish and do an American version à̀ la Twilight; then off course there’s the animated series. Ben 10 and the Powerpuff Girls will disappear and we will be inflicted with weekly HP episodes on every childrens’ channel. It’s going to be overkill once again. Trust me.

NM 🙂

6 thoughts on “Deathly Hallows? Try Deathly Overkill. Would you want your book to be made into a movie?

  1. taureanw says:

    I loved the books and I can “appreciate” the film series 🙂
    I will admit that if someone like Steven Spielberg or another top director wanted to do my book I would let them. I wouldn’t have high hopes that it would be a great movie but my hopes would be people would check out my work after. I enjoyed the first Harry Potter movie and it caused me to start reading the book series which I love infinitely more. Basically I’m saying I would in hopes it would be a gateway drug to my books :-p

    • Nisha says:

      Yes, I forgot about that. The advantages of having a movie made based on your book will just ensure more publicity and would save your marketing agents a lot of trouble!
      I think its great that the movies inspired you to read the books. I guess I’m so used to thinking that the “why read the book when you can just watch the movie” mentality is so ingrained in people that I forget the opposite also applies.

      Thanks very much for your comment!

  2. I think many fans are so fond of their books that they can’t enjoy the films. I can understand that. I get really annoyed with “historical” fiction movies that completely warp their history (Hello, Showtime, need a little help with “The Tudors”?). I had that fear with “The Lord of the Rings.” Thank goodness for Peter Jackson; but at the same time, he made several changes that were not in the remotely in the books in order to make the movies work. Was I happy? No. Did they kill the movies for me? No. Because Jackson was so committed to making LOTR in the spirit of Tolkien’s work and approached his task with such respect and such committment that while I could complain, I could not disagree with his creative choices. (Plus I get to watch so much more in the extended versions!)

    The same applies to these HP movies. To reduce such massive tomes to 2+ hour movies without losing people who aren’t interested in the minutiae of the Potterverse is a real challenge. There are budgets to be considered, time constraints for filming, and, quite frankly, the risk of boring your audience. Further, film is an entirely different storytelling medium. You simply can’t do the same things. If the movies had included Hermione’s crusade on behalf of the House Elves, I think I would have slit my wrists. Yes, it builds her character and adds to the crescendo that is the grand finale, but it would have slowed the films to a crawl whenever it appeared. Do you see my point?

    When I watch the films, I set aside the books and just enjoy the films for what they are. When I read the books, I have an entirely different experience. I like it that way.

    I will agree with you on this: Alan Rickman is divine! (I think we may have had this conversation over on my blog). 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Aww but I loved Hermione’s little S.P.E.W!!! All things considered, I see your point. Movies are a completely different medium to books and therefore we can’t treat them the same.
      I guess I’m just a purist when it comes to books and how movie scriptwriters treat them. As a fan of horror, those Hammer classics truly makes me want to stab myself with a spoon and as for the Tudors, well I just avoid that show like the plague (he he).

      As for our previous conversation, I think it was on the post about who we would want, to have narrate the audio versions of our books, if my memory serves me correct. No prizes for guessing who I would pick! 🙂

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Aha, I love your honesty!

Leave a Reply

