DAY 04 – Book that made you cry


And the winner is…… Spud!

Wait hold on, I hear you say, wasn’t Spud the one that made you laugh? Er, yes.

You see I’m not sure whether John van de Ruit is a goddamn genius or a flippin’ sadist for having done this. My emotions underwent such an unhealthy fluctuation while reading this book that by the end of it I was convinced I was bipolar.

John Cleese plays The Guv with Troye Sivan as Spud in the movie version of the book

I can only imagine what my poor boyfriend was thinking when, after days of bragging to him about how funny this book is and reading extracts to him, he finds me bawling my eyes out as I try to explain inbetween my sobs that Gecko had died.
Everyone I know who read the book was left more or less traumatised by Gecko’s death. After all the incredible humour we were subjected to, the book ended on such a low, I was left with this incredibly empty feeling in the pit of my stomach.

As a result, I officially hate Van de Ruit for having been so so cruel. The bastard.
This however, will not deter me from getting the next two books in the series. Lets hope the madness (and not the sadness) does indeed continue….

NM 🙂

4 thoughts on “DAY 04 – Book that made you cry

  1. thahir says:

    that bloody book was so funny and depressing at the same time. I was disappointed that the movie left out all the funny bits but if it wasn’t for you I would never have known of the wacky gran.

    enjoyed the blog but I think, in my opinion, shurlock holmes short stories are equally or more funny.

  2. Nisha says:

    Its worth reading this book just for Granny Wombat!
    Okay, I would never have categorised SH as being humorous unless you are cynical when it comes to Victorian literature. I suppose the way he bamboozles his enemies and makes a fool of Scotland Yard is kind of hilarious…

  3. Isn’t it great when a book really gets in there and hits the emotions?

  4. Nisha says:

    That’s the hallmark of a great book I think. Although if you’re as sensitive as me, its not always the nicest feeling when something tragic happens in a story. Call me a naive romantic but I do love a good fairytale ending. 🙂

Leave a Reply

