DAY 07 of 30-day Book Challenge – Book you can quote or recite


There are many different lines that I can quote from many different books. No single book stands out.
If you had asked me this question 10 years ago, I would have stated without hesitation: Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night.
Obviously the only reason I knew it so well was because, as part of a Drama assignment in school, I chose Viola’s long monologue to re-enact. Twelfth Night is my favourite Shakespearean play and I really love that soliloquoy but for the life of me, I cannot remember a single word of it now!

I also impressed (or stunned) a friend once, while we both watched Hammer’s version of Dracula with Christopher Lee. Just to be a know-it-all, I recited, with precision timing, a few lines of dialogue seconds before the relevant characters said it themselves. I dare say, I think I scared her more than the movie did.
The one fictional character I love quoting the most however, is off course the Great Detective himself.
My favourite quote ever is on the mechanics of deduction:

Once you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

I don’t even have to look that up to check if I quoted it properly. It’s etched in my brain.
I’ll leave you with a few other gems from Mr. Sherlock Holmes:

A conjurer gets no credit when once he has explained his trick; and if I show you too much of my method of working, you will come to the conclusion that I am a very ordinary individual after all. (A Study in Scarlet)

Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself; but talent instantly recognizes genius.

Only one important thing has happened in the last three days, and that is that nothing has happened. (The Adventure of the Second Stain)

What the deuce is the solar system to me? You say that we go round the sun. If we went round the moon it would not make a pennyworth of difference to me or to my work.

What you do in this world is a matter of no consequence. The question is, what can you make people believe that you have done?

NM 🙂

2 thoughts on “DAY 07 of 30-day Book Challenge – Book you can quote or recite

  1. I can totally relate to this. Although I’m no pro at memorization (you’re way ahead of me in this regard!), a few Shakespearean “lyrics” have stuck in my mind for ages. Best of luck with all. Keep pursuing those lofty dreams!

    • Nisha says:

      This whole Book Challenge has been one big lesson in memorization for me. Its interesting to note what quotes you remember- a few of the Sherlockian quotes from above I had to look up because I couldn’t remember them properly!
      Thanks August for your support and for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

