DAY 15 – First ‘Chapter Book’ you ever read


This is really stretching my memory. It was either a Roald Dahl, Judy Blume or Nancy Drew book, but I wouldn’t put money on any one in particular.

I remember only reading Judy Blume because all the girls in my Grade in Primary School were reading it. The fact that I initially could not remember if Judy Blume was the author or the name of a fictional character bears testimony to the lack of influence these books had on me. (She is in fact the author)
I definitely remember Roald Dahl though. Matilda in particular, had a profound effect on me as a child. The wonderful little girl who taught herself to read, could do complicated Maths sums in her head at lightning speed and who had a certain flair for telekinesis, was worthy of being hero-worshipped.
I can also picture very vividly Miss Trunchbull, her principal, who seemed the epitome of all my worst teachers combined. And that’s truly saying something because I had some pretty horrible teachers.
Growing up, Matilda was probably one of my favourite ‘big books’ (as I used to call them back then). The Witches was also another Dahl book I adored.

Nancy Drew was my introduction to detective fiction and even though, in hindsight, Nancy comes nowhere close to Miss Marple, I liked her because, off course, she was young and modern and I could relate to her back then.

The problem here is chronology. I cannot remember which book I read first. My reasoning tells me it’s Matilda as Judy Blume and Nancy Drew books are aimed at teens and I was definitely reading ‘chapter’ books before then. However this Book Challenge has me doubting my memory, which I always considered to be super-sharp. So I won’t be surprised if the first chapter book I ever read was some humble creation by an unknown author that had failed to make an impact on my memory bank.

NM 🙂

2 thoughts on “DAY 15 – First ‘Chapter Book’ you ever read

  1. Melanie Mahomed says:

    I totally agree with your comments on Matilda. I remember staying up late at night trying to master my telekinesis skills because if Matilda could do it then so could I. Matilda gave me the sense that I could do anything if I put my mind to it and this book is definitly one of the few that I would love to share with my daughter when she decides to grace me with her presence!!.

    • Nisha says:

      I love it when a book dares you to dream big! Ahh dont we all wish we had the gift of telekinesis! For me however, it was Matilda’s humility that won me over. She was such a brilliant child yet so sweet and kind. If your future daughter is anything like you Mel, I’m sure she’ll be just the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

