DAY 20 – Book you have read the most number of times


I sort of have an idea but it’s not like I keep a tally or something. If I really like a book, I do have a tendency to read it again after some time has passed. Therefore there are quite a few books out there that I’ve read at least twice.

Except for the Deathly Hallows, I read all of the Harry Potter books at least twice (I’ve read Philosopher’s Stone, Chamber of Secrets and Azkaban 3 times).
Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian only got boring for me after my third go.
Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sign of the Four and Study in Scarlet were both read twice although I think I also attempted Sign of the Four for the third time but eventually got bored with it half-way through.
Stephen King’s The Tommyknockers was also read twice though I’m not sure why I read it again-it’s not one of my favourites.

The book I have borrowed the most times from the library is the Complete Jack The Ripper by Donald Rumbelow, which is a non-fiction book. This might be due partly to the fact that at one time I was writing a Victorian murder story (I thought it was crap, so it lies unfinished) and was using this book as a reference. It’s still a great book anyway and I wouldn’t mind reading it again.

This leaves us with the two books that keep popping up in this Book Challenge.
I read Hound Of the Baskervilles either 3 or 4 times, I can’t remember. My Penguin Classic version of Dracula I read only once but I have read (as I mentioned in another post) a couple of other editions before and my Ladybird Childrens’ version I’ve gone through like a hundred times (although I know that one doesn’t count! ).

So who is the winner here? I’ll let Sherlock and the Count fight it out…

NM 🙂

6 thoughts on “DAY 20 – Book you have read the most number of times

  1. Zen says:

    Ladybird books do count! I have a number of them and I love them. xD Also, it seems like many people read Prisoner of Azkaban the most; I know it’s my favourite of all the series.

    • Nisha says:

      I never thought about it before but it is interesting to note which of the HP books people read the most. Azkaban does seem very popular and it is one of my favourites in the series too. Maybe its the introduction of Sirius Black or the whole Snape vs. Potter/Black/Lupin dynamic but its worth thinking about. I see a potential blog topic here, thank you very much for comment! 🙂

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    I lost count how many times i read each potter book. I’ve also read the fear streets series over and over again, cant remember how many either.

  3. thahir says:

    you got me thinking here and unfortunately my memory sucks but the book I found myself picking up over and over again was the short story compilation of mr sherlock holmes. every story was an adventure and it takes a few good reads to lend oneself to mr holmes methods of deduction.
    p.s I owe my addiction to sherlock holmes to a soon to be very famous author – don’t blush.

Leave a Reply

