DAY 22 – Book you plan to read next


There are so many books I want to read at the moment but I haven’t a clue where to begin once I finish the ones I’m currently busy with. I compiled a list although I’m not sure which of the following I should read first.

How about this? Take a lookie at the list below and YOU decide which book I should read next, that way you provide the answer for today’s topic. I can read up to three books at a time but unfortunately not eight!
Let me know in the comments below…

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I heard this is really funny and set during one of the World Wars.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – watched 2 movie versions (one with Winona Ryder and the other Katharine Hepburn) of this book and absolutely loved the story.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – Look out for my next post.

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell – I seem to be on a Gaskell high at the moment. Having loved North And South and currently reading Cranford, she has definitely won me over. Fellow blogger Louise highly recommends W&D but my local book store doesn’t have it which means I have to order it. Arghh!

Spud – Learning to fly by John van de Ruit – The last in the series. How can I resist this?

Salaambo by Gustave Flaubert – I have no idea what this story is about but apparently it’s set in Carthage-the ancient city I happen to have a certain obsession with. It’s enough to make me want to hunt down this book.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – I already have this book in my possession. I started reading it a long time ago but then I got bored and threw it aside. Then I found out that there was a ghost or vampire in it and now I’m eager to read it again.

??? by Charles Dickens – I’m in the mood for Dickens again. It’s been a long time since I read anything by him. Except for Christmas Carol, Oliver Twist, Two Cities, Great Expectations and Bleak House, what other book would you recommend?

🙂

2 thoughts on “DAY 22 – Book you plan to read next

  1. Ok let me break it down for you my friend!

    Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – In my opinion, overrated, I did not find this particularly funny.

    Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – if you do read this, read it in conjunction with the following book, “Good Wives” which fills out the story (akin to the film versions you have seen)

    Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – Great read.

    Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell – WOOO order order! Put on the top of your list!

    Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – Based on what you have written in the past, I think you will adore this book. Plenty of mystery and the supernatural!

    As for Charlie…Might I recommend Martin Chuzzlewit? It’s one of my favourites by him 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Nisha says:

    I’m not sure why I threw Bronte aside but I definitely need to give it another go! Since I already have it, I think I’ll read this first.
    I’ll be ordering Wives and Daughters this week. Will probably get it in two-three weeks time.
    As for Dickens, you know I actually considered it along with Nickleby and Pickwick papers. But Martin Chuzzlewit it is; Chuzzlewit and Frankenstein will be my next purchases!
    Thanks for your help Louise! I knew I could count on you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

