DAY 23 – Book you tell people you’ve read but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)


Now I don’t usually go around claiming to read books I haven’t even touched. But there is one book I’m not exactly forthcoming about not reading: Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

Frankenstein or The Modern Prometheus

There was this one time when, while discussing the Gothic classics with someone, I casually threw the famous novel into the conversation. In case you didn’t know, I like to read non-fiction books concerning the horror genre too, so I know enough about Frankenstein (like the fact that it’s not the name of the monster (who’s nameless), but the name of the Doctor/creator) to come across as having read the book.

I do have my reasons however for not reading it as yet.

I was always under the impression that Frankenstein is science fiction, a genre I’m not too keen on. It was mainly due to this fact that I tended to ignore it whenever I came across it in the library or the bookstore.
In an ironic twist, my brother bought me a book a long time ago called the Frankenstein Omnibus, compiled by that king of Horror Anthologies-Peter Haining. My brother no doubt assumed I read Shelley’s novel (I didn’t bother to inform him otherwise!) when buying this book for me. It is a collection of short stories based on or influenced by Frankenstein in some way. I read a few of the stories and to be honest, it was not my cup of tea. Maybe I need to read Frankenstein to appreciate these stories more, I’m not sure. Anyways, this book also contributed to my lack of interest in the famous novel.

Recently however, I’ve met many people (bloggers included) who claim that Frankenstein is a brilliant book. Some of them are not even fans of horror or sci-fi but enjoyed it nevertheless. So I made up my mind to add this to my reading list. Finally!

The days of reading about Frankenstein are over. It’s time to read the classic itself.

NM 🙂

7 thoughts on “DAY 23 – Book you tell people you’ve read but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)

  1. Adam says:

    Frankenstein is a good book, actually one of the rare books that I was forced to read in school that I’ve read on my own as well. I wouldn’t consider it a Science Fiction book, I would probably consider it more of a Fantasy book simply because the ‘science’ of it isn’t explained very well, nor is it realistically possible (at least I don’t think it is).

  2. IDK about the book but I enjoyed the movie even though the movie is so old

    • Nisha says:

      I never watched the movie either strangely enough but it must have been good- it made Boris Karloff’s career. Maybe I’ll buy the DVD once I read the book. 🙂

  3. Frankenstein is about prejudice and abandonment. You have to read it. It shows how prejudice can isolate the victim and make them behave badly in retaliation. I think you will find it interesting because The Monster is actually very eloquent when he learns to speak. It is only because he is treated so badly that he becomes what he is. Films (apart from Kenneth Branagh’s version) never show him as he really is.

    • Nisha says:

      I’ve already read it! I finished it about two months ago and was very impressed with Shelley. Although I must admit at first I found it a bit tedious but gradually it really made me think. The logic behind the Monster’s thinking was incredible and I truly sympathised with him.
      I think it’s a great example of how environment can change a person in spite of their genetic make-up.
      I never watched any of the films, I did see a snippet of the Boris Karloff one though and it seemed awful! Lol. 🙂

      • I’m so glad that you enjoyed it. I just feel so much for The Monster (although, I didn’t like it when he killed), I think that Mary Shelley was so ahead of her time. This is true literature as it can have many different reading models applied to it. Boris Karloff shares my birthday which my son finds quite funny. Also, I’ve cited your Mary piece again on my post about reading to teenagers. Love talking to you about literature.

Leave a Reply

