DAY 30 – Favourite coffee table book


Ah, I can’t believe the final day of the 30-day Book Challenge is finally here!! Woo hoo! And a great way to end it too, well personally for me anyway.

For those of you whose parents were members/subscribers to Readers’ Digest (or maybe you’re one yourself) you will probably remember, not only those tiny magazines, but also those wonderful hardback collectors’ item books designed especially for the adornment of your coffee table.

Ironically, even if I had my own coffee table, I would never dream of leaving these precious books lying out in the open. I might sound completely selfish here but the very thought of some careless relative perusing my Great Mysteries of the Past with their grubby fingers is enough to make my skin crawl.
This book combines two loves of mine- History and mystery. In school, all the ideas and information for my English speeches came from this book. And it wasn’t exactly useless when I consulted it for my History essays either.

Great Mysteries of the Past dissects every major mysterious incident in history (prior to 1990) – from Jack the Ripper to the sinking of the Titanic to the murder of JFK.
It also has articles discussing famous legends and the possible truths behind them, like King Arthur, Robin Hood, William Tell and Lady Godiva. As I said in a previous post, sometimes the best mysteries, are real-life ones.
Not surprisingly, the spine of the book has detached itself somewhat (due to excessive use) and the book itself is valiantly holding on to the hard black cover.

Did I stress how much I love this book? Yes I seriously do. I was actually considering it for DAY 26-Favourite non-fiction book but thought it better to save it for the last topic.

So, the 30-day Book Challenge finally comes to an end. My blogging life returns to normal…

NM 😀

Leave a Reply

