Reflections on the 30-day Book Challenge


After embarking on any sort of endeavour, no matter how great or small, it’s good to reflect on what we have learnt afterwards. If we learnt anything at all.

So what did I learn from the 30-day Book challenge?
That I have a sucky memory when put on the spot (God forbid I ever end up in an interrogation room), that I seriously need to read more books and that it really is a schlep to blog every day. I also learnt that I’m not too skilled when it comes to book reviews. I never know how much to reveal lest someone wants to read the book. This issue was a constant thorn in my side during the entire Book Challenge.

On the positive side of things, I did manage to finish the challenge. I skipped a total of 6 days which is not bad given my lack of discipline. I found writing about some of the topics quite enjoyable- it’s good to reminisce although I did tend to repeat myself a lot.

Given my love for short stories, I did wish there was more emphasis on them (some of my favourite books happen to be short story collections). But the whole Book Challenge was good fun nevertheless and it did drive away idle moments and save me the trouble of looking for something to write about.

For the past two months I put many of my own personal ideas for blog posts on hold as well as the Versatile Blogger Award I received last month. Can’t believe it’s been two months! Where did the time go?

There is indeed life after any challenge, so let’s get cracking!
Wait, let me enjoy my weekend first, see you next week!

NM 🙂

7 thoughts on “Reflections on the 30-day Book Challenge

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Aha, I had that problem, my whole blog is based around me doing book reviews and at first I was so confused on how much to write! I try and write down how the book starts/and sets the scene, and then the verrrrry basic plot lol. And if there are any twists in the plot I don’t mention them :L Anyways, thats some amateur advice from a very amateur book reviewer…haha

    • Nisha says:

      Thanks for that! The problem with me is, if there is a really exciting part or twist in the book, I want to share it with everybody! Off course I also put myself in the reader’s position and thats were it becomes difficult. Thats some good advice there though and I’ll definitely keep them in mind next time 🙂 Btw, are you on wordpress? I cant seem to access your blog…

  2. Congrats! And welcome back to the blogosphere. 😉 Have a fabulous weekend. You deserve it.

  3. Heey you’ve changed your theme! I like it 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Really? Louise you have no idea how long it took me to get that particular shade of green! I’m crazy, I know. Very impressed you noticed though and glad you like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

