Part 2 – And the Versey goes to…


Yesterday I revealed 7 facts about me that you didn’t know. I have one more for you. I know exactly how Dorian Gray feels.
Why? Because this Saturday happens to be my birthday and I’m dreading every second that brings me closer to it. One year older and sillier rather than wiser, I think.

Anyways, in honour of my impending dotage and possible senility, I’ll be the one handing out the gifts in the form of a Versey to the bloggers who have had an impact on me since I started this blog in April.

I’ve customized my Awards (when have I ever done things the normal way?), so don your red carpet apparel on and let’s go…

Drum roll, please.

THE VERSEY OF INSPIRATION goes to…

Philip Bradbury
Whenever I feel low and demotivated, I can always count on Philip to pick me up again. Published author of no less than 9 books, his posts are very inspiring and just the boost every struggling writer needs to get going!

THE RODIN’S THINKING MAN AWARD goes to…

August McLaughlin
I love reading August’s thought-provoking posts which combines elements of writing, inspiration and psychology. I’m always left resting my chin on my hand, deep in thought, afterwards. Your levels of self-awareness will definitely go up a few notches after reading this blog.

THE MONTY PYTHON AWARD goes to…

The Wuc
If you tell me that there is a funnier blogger out there than the Wuc, I will not believe you.

THE MISS CONGENIALITY AWARD goes to…

Katy Hulme
I don’t know Katy personally but from my interactions with her over the Blogosphere, I can truly say, she is one of the nicest bloggers you’ll ever meet. And I think her popularity bears testimony to this.

THE HIGH ACHIEVER AWARD goes to…

Charlotte English
Charlotte has the distinction of being my first ever subscriber (although I don’t think she realizes this). She recently published her first novel Draykon- I noted her progress prior to this and it gives me warm fuzzy feelings to see a fellow writer do so well. She now also has her own website and Facebook page, way to go Charlotte!!

THE VERSEY OF CREATIVITY goes to…

Monique(Neeks) Give Neeks any 3 random words and she’ll create a story from it, using those words. Some of the words are pretty hectic and chosen by other people so you don’t expect much when a writer attempts this. But Neeks does a brilliant job and her stories are very enjoyable to say the least. An excellent concept with great results.

THE INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS AWARDS goes to…

F Scribbles
F is a Kuwaiti who loves her music and who lived in the US for awhile. Her anecdotes on being Muslim and living in America are entertaining but also very refreshing and honest. There’s also a healthy dose of inspiration in there as well and off course, music. We need more people like her in the world, who can bridge the gap between East and West.

THE BOOKWORM’S BEST FRIEND AWARD goes to…

Becky
I only discovered Becky’s blog last week but I love her posts and her topics. We seem to have quite a bit in common so I look forward to her future posts.

And finally…
Just as the beautiful Ouroboros devours its own tail in accordance with the karmic cycles of life, I too, have decided to come full circle in order to repay the favour bestowed upon me. Therefore I award the

PORTRAIT OF A CLASSIC LADY AWARD to…

Louise Jaques
For being the best advocate for Classic Literature than anyone I know and well, just for being downright awesome!

Congratulations friends, on your Verseys, and thank you for inspiring me and helping me on my journey to becoming, not just the best writer I can be but also the best person I can be too!

NM 🙂

21 thoughts on “Part 2 – And the Versey goes to…

  1. Nisha,
    I’m touched! Thanks so much for your warm words and the recognition. Eager to check out the other blogs on your list. Have a joyful birthday with this quote from TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE in mind: “Aging isn’t decay…It’s growth.” Do what you love doing and the more moments, days and years, the merrier. (Cake and presents also help. ;))

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Aww! Thanks for the mention xD

  3. Katy says:

    Nisha, you are too kind, truly. Well done for receiving the award and thank you for including me in your nominations. You rock! 🙂

  4. Nisha says:

    Ah you welcome Katy! But you deserve it, so I’m hardly being kind, just realistic, he he 😛 Kudos to you! 🙂

  5. Charlotte says:

    Hi Nisha, sorry for the delayed response. I was away last week. Congrats on the award and thanks for passing it on to me! Especially with such kind comments.

  6. F. says:

    Another delayed response here, I do apologize! But there really aren’t enough hours a day.

    Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m flattered and do hope I continue you bridging the gap.

    How was your birthday? Will you be posting about it?

  7. Nisha says:

    You’re welcome!
    I had an enjoyable day, thank you! I didn’t really want to go on about my birthday-I feel it’s a bit narcisstic, you know. But then again isn’t the art of blogging very much the same? Ha ha! Maybe I’ll post some pics just for fun, who knows? ;P

  8. Kia ora Nisha,
    Thank you so much for your heart-felt recommendation of my blog. We never know where our balloons of love float off to (some of mine have floated over to you, obviously!) and I can see yours making a huge difference to a whole lot of people you may never know.
    Arohanui
    Philip

    • Nisha says:

      Why thank you Philip! You made a comment on my blog ages ago which I still remember because it gave me hope. You ooze inspiration, so keep on going Sir! It’s a pity your books are not available here in South Africa but I will try to get them over the internet soon.
      I do hope I make a difference, even if it means making someone feel better for like, 5 minutes. Being a writer is easy. Being an influential writer is 20x harder. Hopefully I’ll get there someday!
      Thanks for stopping by Philip and all the best!
      Ps. Not sure if you like rugby but congrats on the World Cup win. What a final! 🙂

  9. beckyday6 says:

    One question. Because I’m mentioned on this am I supposed to pass it on to someone else? I don’t really know how these things work lol. Cheers 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Only if you want to.

      According to the rules you have to 1. Formally thank the person who gave you the versey 2. List 7 things about yourself that others might not know about you 3. Pass it on to 15(!) other bloggers 4. Inform the bloggers that you have given them the award.
      As you can see, I only gave it to 9 people so you can bend the rules a little if you want. 🙂

  10. beckyday6 says:

    Nisha you are now mentioned in my Versatile Blogger award post 🙂 http://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  11. Nisha thank you so much! That is such a wonderful compliment and I’ve always so enjoyed our discussions about classic literature – and I hope we can have many more in the future! You’re the best!

    • Nisha says:

      Awww, schucks. *blushes*
      You know I really have learnt so much from you, so its the least I could do! I also look forward to our future discussions. 🙂

  12. the wuc says:

    Crumbsies, the Monty Python award! How frikkin awesome is that?! I feel more humble than Charles “Corky” Thatcher of Life Goes On lore. (I’m going to school now, Dad.)

    Much thanks Nishkabob. Much thanks indeed.

Leave a Reply

