Spell-check please!


So how’s your spelling? Is it pretty sound or is your Oxford Dictionary falling to pieces?

Well I’m happy to admit that spelling is not my Achilles Heel. I think I’m pretty good at it or at least I can say I don’t break a sweat over it.
However as I spend more and more time writing, I noticed that two particular words make me stumble over and over again. No matter how many times I use them, I can never spell them right the first time around. Now these are not ‘big’, scientific terms I’m talking about here. These are common words people use every day.

The word “unfortunately” (thank you Spell-check!) is my official enemy word. A simple word I can never get right. I always seem to misplace the ‘a’ and ‘e’ for some reason.

“Definitely” is another nemesis of mine. My version of the word tends to have more or less ‘i’s’ than it’s suppose to.
I don’t ever have a problem spelling big words like ‘irascible’ or ‘bourgeoisie’ but yet when I type ‘unfortunately’ or ‘definitely’, I’m greeted by that horrible red line that Microsoft Word imposes on us when we misspell a word.

So what’s your enemy word? Surely I can’t be the only one who has problems with specific terms. I know some people have issues with double‘s’ words like ‘necessary’. So come on, tell me your word weakness and make me feel better… 😉

17 thoughts on “Spell-check please!

  1. beckyday6 says:

    (whoops sorry ignore the first comment, I didn’t realise I wasn’t signed in, haha)
    My spelling has always been terrible! And considering the amount of books I read you’d probably expect it to be better. It’s mostly easy words that I should have learnt in primary school that get to me. For instance the first time I came across the world Alzheimer’s or Schizophrenia I could spell them straight away no problem. But it was simple words such as weird (I would spell wierd) and pretty (I would spell pritty) that I always spelt wrong, I still have to seriously think about them now. I think it’s because I learn them wrong, and it’s difficult to unlearn something.
    Definitely is one on my enemy words (I still try to spell it deffinatley) haha. Necessary is as well (I spell it neccesary) and also recommend (I spell reccommend)

    • Nisha says:

      I can completely understand why the word ‘weird’, the whole ‘e’ before ‘i’ thing can be confusing. It’s so ironic that it’s the small words that get us.
      I love your spelling of ‘definitely’, it’s so original! Ha Ha! 😉

  2. Haha, talk about hitting the nail on the head! There are soo many words that constantly trip me up no matter how many times I practice them or rewrite them. Receive (I actually had to google that before writing it here incorrectly and embarrassing myself!) Piece. Anything really with i’s and e’s and c’s close together always kills me! Stupid English language!

    • Nisha says:

      ‘i’ before ‘e’ except after ‘c’, or something like that. That rhyme sounds so pretty when said aloud yet I don’t think it helps any of us. The nice thing about the English language is that it’s continuously undergoing metamorphosis so in a hundred years time, ‘piece’ might actually become ‘peece’ and life would be just that much easier. 🙂 Off course we’ll all be dead by then so it still doesn’t help… :/

      Btw, I’m not sure if you noticed but I gave you a special Versey back in return for the one you gave me… just hinting 😉

  3. I do not understand peeple who are so unimaginative that they can onli spell words wun way. Unfortinately there is a deafinate increase in these peaple and they ruin it for those of us hoo chuse to spel interestinglee.
    Spellingly
    Philip

  4. “Unfortunately” also trips me up, as does “Mischievous” (which I misspelled originally here, and had to rely on SpellCheck as usual). I don’t know what it is about theses words, but I’m constantly adding i’s and e’s to them. Lol!

    • Nisha says:

      Oooh, ‘mischievous’ is a good one (I nearly misspelt it now and had to look at your comment to help me! LOL). I’ve noticed a pattern here with the other commenters here as well- the i’s and e’s together seem a deadly combination!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  5. I am so glad spelling is one of my strengths hehehe…but I am having a hard time with the word “accommodate” lately. I think I am starting to rely on auto-correct too much…better go practice my spelling again 😀

  6. Nisha says:

    Oh yes, ‘accommodate’. I’m also having trouble with these double ‘c’ words. I was writing the word ‘occasion’ the other day and just messed it up completely!
    I’m glad I’m not the only ‘good speller’ who sometimes gets it wrong! Thanks for commenting!

  7. Good post here, I have to many to even share. Something I tend on working on. God Bless 🙂

  8. ChaseK8 says:

    I also stumble with Definitely EVERY time I type it, as well as a few other common words that I can never seem to get right. 🙂 Thank God someone invented spell check!

  9. Frank Bishop says:

    Restaurant is my arch nemesis. 😦

    Spell check comes in the revision. If i start worrying about what works and doesn’t, I end up in an endless cycle of revision and never finish writing.

    More to the point, my spelling is really bad.
    I’m guilty of every grammatical taboo too, since we are being honest.

    • Nisha says:

      You know when I was young I also had trouble with ‘restaurant’. I would mix the ‘a’ and ‘u’ up and write ‘restuarant’! I’m fine with the word now though-it doesn’t give me any trouble 😀

      I personally believe that no writer has perfect grammar. The only people who do are the ones who make the rules for it! And good on you Frank for being honest, there are more people like you then you think!

Leave a Reply

