NaNoWriMo? Is that a new type of IPad or something?


I have decided to take part in NaNoWriMo 2011……………….Ha! Ha! Gotchya!

Yeah right, like I have the discipline to pull that one off.
But I must admit that with every writer/blogger talking about National Novel Writing Month, I feel like a sad schoolboy, who doesn’t have the latest Playstation game all his classmates are talking about and therefore cannot get excited about it in the same way as his friends are. What I’m basically saying is that I feel decidedly ostracized and even considered, for a fraction of a second, to take part. Off course, I do know my limits and therefore exercised my better judgment.

Even though I’m not participating, I feel strangely motivated. With all the hype, it seems NaNoWriMo is having an indirect effect on me.Maybe it’s the thought of all those brave souls, who are deliberately putting their entire lives on hold – locking themselves in their houses, switching off their television sets, the internet and other social media for the entire month in an attempt to eliminate all distractions so they may undertake the admirable task of writing their novels in 30 days (strange how they find the time and means to blog about this though!). This has motivated me to work just a little bit harder on my own stuff. It’s an incredible lesson in discipline and it’s rubbing off on me. I seem to be winning a little-and I’m not even taking part!!

I have to confess that if I had not started blogging, I would never have known such a thing as National Novel Writing Month existed. Only when I did, did I realize what an incredibly small bubble I was living in. When I first heard the term “NaNoWriMo”, I thought it was some new piece of technology out on the market, like a new type of IPad or those Tablet PC thingies. I even delayed finding out what it was because I figured since I don’t even own a Kindle as yet, there was no way I would be able to afford a NaNoWriMo, which sounded very expensive.
Ah, the beginning of knowledge is the discovery of something we do not understand, as Frank Herbert once said. My ignorance certainly has been betrayed since blogging, I won’t lie. That’s the purpose of ‘web-logging’ I suppose, to open up yourself to the world around you so you become less of an idiot.

So will I ever take part in NaNoWriMo in the future? Probably. Maybe. Nah, highly unlikely, maybe in my next life. But if you are taking part now, here’s a hearty good luck to you. I truly admire your spirit so go break a leg, or finger and remember to have some fun in the process. If possible…

NM 🙂

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo? Is that a new type of IPad or something?

  1. Charlotte says:

    I know what you mean, Nisha. I love NaNoWriMo but I don’t have time or energy to do it right now. However, almost all my writer friends are! I tried hard to persuade myself it would be a good idea to do it anyway, so I don’t feel so left out. Haha. Maybe next year…

    • Nisha says:

      Oh good, that’s at least one person I know who isn’t taking part. I always considered peer pressure to be a high school thing but I’ve unwittingly made myself a victim of it through NaNoWriMo! LOL ! 😛

  2. beckyday6 says:

    I though about taking part in the NaNoWriMo too, my friends doing it. But I just knew like you, I wouldn’t have the time of discipline to do it, and I figured there really wouldn’t be any point me sitting down to write if the however many words I set myself a day were complete rubbish. What would be the point? Besides, I much rather write when inspiration hits, rather than turning it into a chore…….
    🙂

    • Nisha says:

      That’s the one thing I dont like about NaNoWriMo, if its going to result in a whole lot of rubbish novels, then its not worth it. It might work for some people, but I dont think it would work for me. You rather take a year and produce quality than stress yourself out for 30 days for something that might not work. 😛

  3. thahir says:

    you can write a novel in a month but the majority of the writing will take place the day before;)

    i think you should give it a go. i’ll pay to read it.

  4. You’ve captured my sentiments exactly – I am in no way motivated enough to do the challenge, but it is having a rub off effect of me, all these creative juices. A nice environment to be working in, no?

    • Nisha says:

      Very much so, it’s motivation without the pressure! In that way it proves more beneficial to all of us non-participants because at least we get to complete our WIP’s a lot quicker! 😉

  5. I’m another non-NaNo writer! I’ve never tried it. Maybe someday, if I’m trying to kickstart a new project. It’s interesting to hear everyone talk about it, though, and I agree that there’s some positive effect on my own work knowing so many people are working on novels right now. An added sense of energy when I sit down to face the blank page.

    • Nisha says:

      They say a journey of a writer is a solitary one, so I think the hype around NaNoWriMo does a lot to alleviate some of that loneliness and writers block off course! It does give you that added boost and energy which is not a bad thing at all! Thanks for stopping by Laura! 😀

Leave a Reply

