Writers’ block on the Writers Bloq


There is a reason why this blog is called NM’s Writers Bloq (yes, that’s a q at the end, not a g!).

The dreaded disease had spread its big, black bat-like wings around me once again.

I have 3 stories patiently waiting to be completed. I usually like to work on more than one story at a time because if I hit a slump with one, then I can just switch to another without wasting any time. This being my supposed cure for writers’ block.  Sadly I recently hit a slump with all three at the same time. Talk about hard luck!

I’m very proud of my reaction to this however, as usually I get very depressed and start questioning myself and doubting my abilities (okay, this did happen too, but it only lasted like, a day!).

This time, instead of putting the focus on myself, I focused on the stories themselves. I decided to write, in journal-form, my thoughts and feelings about each story.  
I tapped into my subconscious and wrote, without any reservations, what I hated and what I liked about each story. And I got some surprising results.

For one story I realized that it was my attitude that was holding me back. I was so worried about what others might think that it prevented me from progressing with this story.
The second one was proving a chore and only after writing my feelings down, did I realize that it was only because I hadn’t done the necessary research I was suppose to initially, that I was lacking confidence with certain themes in the tale. I’m such a big fan of research. I’m always harping on about its importance yet for this story I seemed to put very little effort into it due to my laziness.
My third story was actually a result of a nightmare I had. The dream gave me the idea for the story but because the dream made no sense realistically, I wondered whether my reader would feel the same way about what I was writing. I also wondered whether my writing would do justice to what I thought was very, very scary.  Would the reader also find it scary or would they think it’s just stupid?

Who would have thought that writing down my thoughts and feelings would reveal so much? And without thinking too hard it also provided me with the answers as well. It was like Tom Riddle’s diary-Harry Potter writes a question on the page and an answer appears to him on the very same page. Except in my case the answers were benevolent, positive and very helpful. It helped me provide the solution to the unique problems I was having.

For the first story, I thought of famous authors who had written about the same themes or issues in their novels. I realized that they didn’t seem too bothered about what others might think, so why should I?  I’m happy to say that I’m almost finished with this story. 🙂
For the second tale, of course, it was obvious. Research, research, research. The more knowledge you have at your disposable, the more effortless and enjoyable your writing will be. Simple.
In number 3, I convinced myself, that if I found this story scary, then others might too. Hell, the fact that I refuse to work on this piece at night, has got to mean something!

All this took less than half an hour to do, yet it proved most invaluable. Self-help books always advocate writing down your general thoughts and feelings in a stream of consciousness. This form of stream of consciousness-writing works for any problem, trust me. My humble advice is: do this for your stories, your novel or any WIP that is lying stagnant.  You will be surprised at what is revealed to you.

As writers you would think that the most obvious thing to do if you have a problem is to write it down. Sometimes the most obvious things are the most elusive.

NM 🙂

20 thoughts on “Writers’ block on the Writers Bloq

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Haha, thats actually genius, because I bet 98% of people would never come up with that, even though the answer was right under their nose!
    Keep going Nisha, you writing is great! 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Yep, so true, I read somewhere that whenever a problem is created, the solution to that problem is also created at that exact moment. Its all about opening our eyes and finding it!
      Thanks for your ongoing support Becky, you have no idea how much you guys motivate me ! 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    It’s been a while since you’ve posted! Glad to see you’re still here! I really like that you did this and will most definitely be doing it the next time I end up with writer’s block. Lucky for me, my fiance likes the same genre I write so sometimes she helps me get some ideas flowing when I get stuck.

    • Nisha says:

      Wow, Chris, being gone for over a week, I didnt think anyone would notice! But thanks for making me feel special! 😉

      You should definitely try it if you ever feel stuck. I forgot to mention this in the post but it also helps with characterization, especially if you are not sure about their personalities, reactions, dialogues etc. By writing down your intimate thoughts and feelings about a character you actually build a connection with them and understand them better.
      Its awesome that you have your fiance to help you out. Loved ones can play such an important part in our lives. And to have one that understands and likes the genre you write in, well thats just a bonus! 🙂

  3. nelle says:

    Good post, and glad you found your way forward!

  4. Katy says:

    “As writers you would think that the most obvious thing to do if you have a problem is to write it down. Sometimes the most obvious things are the most elusive.” So true! We are a special breed us writers. In any case, this is such a good idea. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      When you say ‘special breed’ Katy, I assume you mean CRAZY breed. Ha ha ha! Lol 😛

      I’m happy you like the idea, if you ever feel the need to apply it, let me know the results!

  5. Fantastic post. So glad you had the wisdom to look inward and reaped your due rewards. Jotting your thoughts down reminds me of Julia Cameron’s book, “The Artist’s Way.” I learned so much about myself through those morning pages (daily free writing). If we don’t get the “stuff” inside out, it constipates our writing for sure.

    • Nisha says:

      Ha ha! I love your constipation metaphor August, it makes sense since what we are experiencing are ‘blockages’.
      And I know what you mean-you do learn a lot about yourself. Even though you are writing down your thoughts about the story, the answers you get tell so much about your state of mind and general feelings too! Glad you enjoyed my post!

  6. thahir says:

    loving the dedication. i think that the idea of writing down problems and finding your own solutions requires courage and a whole lot of honesty. im def gonna use this.
    p.s most of your stories cant be read at night – too scary:)

    • Nisha says:

      Yay! You taking my advice! The strange thing is that it doesn’t actually require a lot of effort. All you really need is honesty, and of course a pen and paper.
      You might not be able to read most of my stories at night but at least I can say I WORKED on them after dark. Not so for ‘Intruder’though. I like to hear your thoughts on that one when you read it! 🙂

  7. Thank you for that last line – what a great piece of advice – I’m going to write it up and place it on my desk to stare at! Best of luck with finishing!

  8. mj monaghan says:

    Nicely written piece, Nisha!

  9. Raven says:

    Thank’s for the ideas. When I have writers block I tend to work on out of story character development; really small particulars that may never make in the story like favorite foods, favorite colors, childhood pets, and christmas memories. The more real the characters are to me the easier it is to hear their voices when I’m telling their story. Options are nice though so I will keep this in mind too.

    And I do the same thing: multiple stories for when I get stumped on one. Right now I have 3 going. Drives my husband crazy for some reason. LOL

    • Nisha says:

      Wow, thats a really great idea Raven! Though I think its nice to do that for your characters anyway even if you are not stumped. I might just try that idea out for myself. 🙂
      And I know what you mean, nobody understands how I can work on more than one story. It baffles them but I cant have it any other way! I think its an OCD for me. I cant work on ONE story or read ONE book at a time. I become edgy otherwise, LOL 😛

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting…

  10. trixfred30 says:

    Well at least your stories get started. Mine consist of themes and mind maps – I have never got beyond the planning phase

    • Nisha says:

      Its all about perseverence and how bad you want it. Give yourself just 15 minutes, and write down your personal feelings about your ideas and your thoughts about why you never get past the planning stages. Trust me, it will definitely help. If not, I’ll give you your money back… he he 😉

Leave a Reply

