All these Blog Awards – great idea or great nuisance?


It just seems like every week more and more blog awards are being created. If you’ve been blogging for awhile, you’ve probably received one yourself. And as pleased as some people are when they are presented with one, there are some who are not so grateful and find it a complete nuisance.

I recently read a blog post (I won’t mention the site for obvious reasons-it was not from a blogger I follow or who follows me if you must know) which gave me a good giggle. The blogger ranted about how much she hated these awards with its spam-like quality and made a direct appeal to her followers never to present her with any.

I can’t imagine how hurtful that might have been to some of her followers who had presented her with some of these awards in the past. On closer inspection however I tasted a hint of sour grapes. I’m paraphrasing her here but she moaned about how annoying it was to read an entire (long) post, only to find in the end, her name not mentioned on the list of awardees! Oh gasp.
Hence the good giggle. 😀

I did not agree with her reaction to the whole thing but I can understand why some might be annoyed. Having to pass an ‘award’ on to 10-15 bloggers and for them to pass it on to a further 10+ people and so forth, is reminiscent of the days when chainmail was trending over the internet and if you did not forward that email to X-amount of people within seven days, you were either going to die, be abducted by aliens or get peed on by a poodle.

But there is a difference here and that is: intention.

Bloggers, who create these ‘Awards,’ are only thinking of others and trying to spread the love. They are well-meaning and I guess good intentions can sometimes be misplaced. What’s also different is that there is no obligation with these blog awards, there is no ultimatum. You don’t HAVE to pass it on if you don’t want to. So to all those who whinge about these awards, instead of moaning, if you receive one, accept the award graciously, thank the blogger for thinking of you in the first place (which I think is a nice gesture in itself) and then move on.

Personally I quite like Blog Awards even though I don’t always pass it on. I like receiving them because it’s proof that this blog of mine is not a complete waste of cyber space and I also like to be introduced to other bloggers. You see, since my TAG Surfer has dropped off the face of the earth (that’s a hint WordPress!) I’m finding it hard to discover new blogs. So these Blog Award Posts actually help me in a sense.

In hindsight, I also realised that I discovered some of you guys via these Awards. So it can’t be all bad now, can it?

NM 🙂

24 thoughts on “All these Blog Awards – great idea or great nuisance?

  1. nelle says:

    Well said… you captured my feelings on the subject. Intent…is everything, and it matters someone thought enough of you to send it along. Even if you don’t distribute (which I don’t), do thank the sender, publicly.

  2. nelle says:

    I’ll add that the reason I don’t pass it on is I enjoy the blogs I post on, and do not enjoy differentiating and selecting. I’d send it to everyone, every time. 😉

    • Nisha says:

      I can relate, I often think to myself afterwards: “I’m sure I missed someone!” and then I feel guilty that I didn’t get to mention my loyal followers even if I did pass an award on to them on a previous occasion. Intention is important and the fact that someone is taking the time and effort to showcase your blog, should be acknowledged. 🙂

  3. beckyday6 says:

    I completely agree with you.
    Chainmail is unbelievably irritating. Luckily I recieve very little of it now. I do understand why people could dislike blogging awards but like you said, I just feel so thankful when I recieve one knowing someone is taking the time out of their busy life, to mention me and give a little praise (and that they like my blog enough to do so!) A blogging award can really make someone’s day (mine anyway 😛 ) and I always like the oppotunity to spread some happiness! So I think it’s a bit of a shame that some bloggers are so anti them…..but I do understand it.

    Also *cues forshadowing* I may just have recieved a couple of awards recently so someone who’s name begins with N may just be recieving another nomination; if of course, she is interested in having it 😉

    • Nisha says:

      I do love that feeling, especially when you’re having a bad day, and you open up your blog and find that someone nominated you. It’s motivating. Plus it gives you something to blog about! 😉 But I agree with Charlotte’s comment above; the number is too high. I rather hand it to two people or three people-it would make them feel more special I think and encourage people to click on their link moreso than a whole list of blogs mentioned one after the other.

      You ‘may’ have received? You really are psychic aren’t you? He he 😉 Now I wonder who this N-person might be? Hmmmm… Now I know how actors feel pre-Oscars!

  4. Charlotte says:

    To my mind the fact that they have to be passed on to 15 people is their downfall. Partly because it is reminiscent of chain letters but also because that number is just too high. I read blogs a lot, and I still can’t think of 15 that I honestly think are award-worthy. If I tried to fill up a list I’d end up including some that aren’t up to that standard, just to reach 15. And so, whenever I get these I always end up wondering whether I was included with feeling or just because the presenter needed another couple of names 😛

    • Nisha says:

      Well just for the record, when I presented the Versey to you months ago, it was on merit. You totally deserve it, so you needn’t worry there! 😉

      I totally agree, the number is way too high. And you make a good point there, it is hard to tell if someone is awarding you because they feel they need to fulfill the obligatory requirements of the award or if they genuinely like your blog and want to acknowledge you. On the bright side, at least a mention on their blog means more exposure for you, so it’s not such a bad thing. 🙂

  5. xandimusic says:

    yeah, the first post I read about this theme Nisha, and I also thought it should be necessary, that somebody writes about this! I think, all these awards got to popular….
    Regards,
    xandi

    • Nisha says:

      Strange enough, I did notice too that nobody wrote about this but I’m glad I did. I felt I had to for many reasons.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Xandi!

  6. Martin Shone says:

    I don’t like awards for my writing, I prefer it to be read and passed on if it’s any good. That’s the real award 🙂

    My first one I did feel obliged to find 15 other blogs and slowly I started to narrow it down to just a couple and now I don’t pass them on unless I feel it is a real worthy award. And I don’t like the awards where I have to answer questions, to me that isn’t an award it’s a questionaire 🙂

    However as you say, someone has taken their time to think of someone else and so give the award. I accept the “awards” because of this, but I still don’t like them 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Thanks for being honest Martin, many people don’t like these awards and I guess I don’t blame you guys but I’m the complete opposite when it comes to the questions! I like them because it reveals a lot about a blogger and it helps if you haven’t been following them for long. And plus you get to talk about yourself! 😉
      There’s no obligation though and thats what I like the most. So no pressure 😀

  7. I like when I see others getting the Awards because it’s a free list of ten blogs I might be interested in looking at and perhaps following… I’ll go down the list and any wordpress blogs get a look, and if I like it I follow it… makes it easier than doing a search… you’ve done the search for me… so keep handing them out!

    Armand Rosamilia

    • Nisha says:

      Great to see you here Armand!
      Yes, that was my thinking precisely. And if it’s a blogger you like, whose recommending them, chances are you will probably enjoy those blogs too. So everybody wins!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  8. thahir says:

    an award is an award. I think that any recognition is better than non at all;)

    I do believe that there is some truth in all awards but maybe passing it on to 15 others is s bit too much.

    nice post;)

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you 😉 and nice sentiment. Yes, it’s not like bad publicity or something. These are positive ‘awards’so people should be chuffed.
      I do agree that passing it on to so many people is a bit much but like I said, it’s not obligatory. 🙂

  9. mj monaghan says:

    Well said, Nisha. That’s exactly how I feel about them. To totally shun them out loud is not preferred. No one has to do anything if they don’t want to. Just smile, and accept it, as you say.

  10. I’ve connected with a bunch of great bloggers through blog awards. And like many aspects of blogging, there’s no real right or wrong, just what works or doesn’t for each of us personally. I second MJ’s thoughts on happy acceptance. 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Same here, these Blog Awards have resulted in me finding some great blogs, so it actually serves a great function. And like you say, there’s no right or wrong, no obligatory rules, so just do what makes you happy. 🙂

  11. Barb says:

    Nisha, I nominate you for the Nice Gal award. There’s no such thing floating around the internet that I know of…but if there were…you’d be my first pick. What a gracious way to encourage others to be kind to givers and receivers.

    • Nisha says:

      Awwww, thank youuu! The Nice Gal award, hey? I’m honoured, I’m putting it up right next to my imaginary Pulitzer and Nobel!!!

      It’s very kind of you to call me gracious, Barb. I just thought I was telling it like it is !! LOL 😉

  12. trixfred30 says:

    You’re right its a new form of pyramid selling (kind of) and there are too many of them

  13. Hi Nisha my friend, I’m here to pester you again ;), I nominated you for the HUG Award, check it out at my blog! xx

Leave a Reply

