And now for something completely different…


Exciting times awaits, folks. The end of this month marks the one-year anniversary of NM’s Writers’ Bloq. Yessiree, consider me a blog pro! Well almost.

Anyhoo, so in honour of the anniversary, the month of March will see some new ‘developments.’

Firstly the Writers’ Bloq will play host to its very first Guest Blogger, so look out for that this coming Sunday.
And secondly…

I have a confession to make.

I have always wanted to be a writer, ever since I can remember. Yes, I know, that’s not really a confession and hardly a revelation, just let me continue…

When I nurtured dreams of being a writer as a young girl, I never, ever thought that I would be writing…. fiction.
How’s that? Surprised? I always saw myself writing articles and when it came to books, the only kinds I imagined myself publishing were textbooks and celebrity autobiographies (I’m being serious). Hey, I was young- I was allowed to dream big.
I only started dabbling in fiction writing about three years ago, hence my lack of confidence sometimes with regards to my stories.

Non-fiction, however, is what I consider my comfort zone. I’m not saying it’s easy, in fact, it can be just as difficult even with all the information at your disposal. I enjoy reading and writing it however so I’m hoping you would humour me in this regard.
See, I’ve decided to start a new feature on this blog. I’m calling it History, Myths and Legends. I think that pretty much speaks for itself. There is already a category dedicated to this, as you can see on the side but I’ve decided to up the ante. If you are into historical events, true life mysteries and the supernatural then you’re in for a treat!!!

Once a month, I will dedicate one post to a famous legend, myth or piece of history with/without a supernatural twist. I can’t promise that they will have some literary link but I will try. Therefore to all my writer buddies, if this isn’t your cup of herbal tea, I do apologise. You will just have to wait for another one of my regular posts where I moan about editing. 😉
Also if you have a sensitive disposition and a natural aversion to the supernatural, I will understand if you make yourself scarce. I would hate to think I was the cause of nightmares or sleepless nights. I have affectionately abbreviated the feature to HML (not to be confused with the web-link abbreviation!) so you will recognise the article.

As usual, I would love to hear your thoughts about my new blog feature. My very first HML post will be next week : Spring-heeled Jack, the Scourge of England.
See ya then!

NM 🙂

32 thoughts on “And now for something completely different…

  1. Happy blogging anniversary! I can’t wait for the historical supernatural posts. They WAY beat lullabies before bed. 😉

  2. sounds good, can’t wait. Glad to hear you coming back. God Bless 🙂

  3. Happy Blogging Anniversary! 🙂

  4. nelle says:

    You should write what you wish to write, where you feel your passion, with no apologies. While there are some things that make me squeamish – I’m not one to watch or read horror – there are tamer elements of interest, particularly historical roots. If something is too much for me, I’ll post my eyes are closed. 😉

    I guess that is a prattled way of saying I love your idea. 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Ha ha, sorry Nelle 😀 I will try to include some non-supernatural posts although I must warn you that the next two HML posts-Spring-heeled Jack and the Tokoloshe are pretty creepy so you can avert your eyes if you wish. I wanted to include a rating on how scary the nature of the content is, at the beginning of a post, but I’m not sure how to do it. What one person considers scary, I might not and vice versa.
      I’ll give you a heads up before I post though so you know!

      • nelle says:

        There’s spooky Exorcist and then there is spooky The Shining. I did okay with the latter, would never watch the former. I’ll give ’em a go, and I’ll comment if I can’t read it so you can giggle at my wimpiness!

        Now gore is a whole other matter, would never ever go within a country mile of it.

      • Nisha says:

        Oh I’m completely with you there. I don’t like movies like SAW and Texas Chainsaw Massacre either, they don’t do it for me at all. Although I am an amateur Ripperologist which doesn’t make sense in view of that…
        I’m not sure if this helps but I will be providing alternate explanations and theories if available. Usually when it comes to supernatural occurrences, the first thing people try to do is provide a rational explanation for it. So maybe hanging on to these theories will ease your anxiety a bit. 😉

  5. Happy anniversary. I am very interested in your new series of posts. It sounds great!

  6. Supernatural stories are among my favorites – looking forward to the new feature. And Happy Anniversary!

    • Nisha says:

      Awesome Kelly! Glad you like my new idea. Supernatural stories are entertaining but it’s even better when they happen to be true! Hope you enjoy them!

  7. Barb says:

    What only once a month? We’ll take whatever we can get from you. Happy Anniversary, We’re in for a treat.

    • Nisha says:

      Oh the pressure is on! I’m nervous now, all these expectations, ha ha! Unfortunately Barb I don’t want to scare people like Nelle away from my blog, so yes only once a month I’m afraid. Think of me as the werewolf who shows her true side only when the moon is full… 😉

  8. jenniferneri says:

    Sounds terrific, Nisha!
    Happy blogging anniversary 🙂

  9. beckyday6 says:

    Happy belated blogging anniversary! 🙂
    I find it really interesting that you wanted to write non-fiction as a child, I imagine that’s a pretty unique dream to have. I always wanted to write fiction…..I don’t think I even realised there was an alternative at the time haha. Why did you decide to switch? 🙂
    I’m seriously excited about your new History, Myths and Legends section! Historical events, true mysteries and the supernatural all rolled into one!?!??!! Sounds like my kind of heaven! 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Let me make another confession. When I was young, when it came to ficion, I was bit of a snob. Apart from horror short stories, Agatha Christie and some Roald Dahl I didn’t read much fiction. I told myself that real stories were more exciting because, well, they were REAL. I’m happy to say that I don’t feel that way anymore.

      A few years ago, I completed my degree but struggled to find a job and was unemployed for a long time. I used to frequent the library a lot, so much in fact that I had almost finish reading all the books in the non-fiction section! Then I started to pick up more novels and was beginning to enjoy it. One day I started reading a novel by a famous horror author and I just thought-what a joke. The book was so bad I said to myself, “I’m sure I can do better than this!” That’s how my fiction-writing journey started. I had so many ideas milling around in my head anyway from all the non-fiction stories I had read and that’s how my collection of short stories began. Hope that satifies your curiosity, Beckster, 😉
      I’m glad you’re excited about my new feature. It’s my kind of heaven too! 😀

      • beckyday6 says:

        Really? Haha, I’ve never actually read any Agatha Christie but I hear the name a lot. Mystery thriller type genre right? Well the important thing is that your a reformed snob 😉
        I’m glad you don’t feel that way anymore too, otherwise I would never have come across your blog 😛
        Blimey I’m really impressed by your non-fiction reading, now I finally understand where all that knowledge comes from! Your journey through fiction makes a great little story. I’m really glad it motivated enough to start writing fiction though.
        It has satisfied my original curiosity, but now I’m even MORE curious who that terrible author was haha 😉

      • Nisha says:

        Agatha Christie writes detective fiction. She created those super-sleuths Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple. Not as good as Mr. Sherlock but still good enough! 😉
        I forgot to mention Edgar Allan Poe as well: Pit and the Pendulum was my favourite when I was young. Apart from that my scope of fiction reading was very limited back then.
        You might want to take a look at a post I wrote for the 30-day Book challenge back in August last year. The secret is revealed! 😀

        https://nmwritersbloq.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/day-2-least-favourite-book/

      • beckyday6 says:

        Ha! Ohh yeah I remember that post now. I think that might have been the first/one of the first comments I wrote on your blog! Who knew we’d end up here? 😛

      • Nisha says:

        Oh really? Sorry I didn’t even check the comments! Talk about coming full circle! Lol. 😉

  10. Katy says:

    Very much looking forward to the History, Myths and Legends posts! What a great idea 🙂

  11. Happy blogging anniversary! I’m very glad to have gotten to know you over this time and always enjoy reading you! 🙂

  12. Happy blogging anniversary Nisha…love reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

