The Tokoloshe – An HML Post


African folklore is rich with stories of famous legends, morality tales, supernatural beings and mythical creatures. Yet they do seem to go unnoticed by the rest of the world.

In the spirit world Europe is famous for its sprites, fairies and goblins. South Africa has its very own version of a diminutive monster which has a reputation for being a source of chaos and terror.

The Tokoloshe is a well-known myth in South Africa, yet to many people it is more than a myth – it is a genuine cause for concern and fear.

A famous sketch of the Tokoloshe.

The word ‘tokoloshe’ is Xhosa in origin and refers to a dwarf-life creature, an African version of the European sprite or brownie. SA’s foremost expert on African culture, the venerable Dr. Credo Mutwa describes the tokoloshe as resembling a ‘ghastly-looking teddy-bear with a hairy body with a sharp bony ridge on its head’. It’s also known to be so well-endowed that it actually carries its extremely long penis over its shoulder (I’m not making this up).

The tokoloshe is a malevolent creature that is said to be conjured up by powerful witchdoctors who use it to cause trouble and inflict terror upon their enemies or the enemies of their clients. In some South African households people still raise their beds up on bricks to prevent the midget-like creature from jumping on. Whether the existence of the Tokoloshe is true or not, the fact that peoples’ beliefs are influenced by this supernatural being cannot be denied. As a result it is often blamed for many disasters and misfortunes.

If I had to list all the murderers who have held the Tokoloshe responsible for the crimes they committed, I would need a couple of more blog posts to do so. I’ll highlight two famous cases for you though, one from the past and one currently making headlines.

During the years 1953 – 1955 one of SA’s most famous serial killers Elifasi Msomi, otherwise known as the Axe Killer, went on a killing spree, murdering 15 people (men, women and children) in the province of Kwa-Zulu Natal. He claimed that a tokoloshe sat on his shoulder ordering him to kill.

Headline from a SA newspaper in the 1950's. Image taken from Wikipedia

Msomi escaped twice from the police, attributing his lucky breaks to this evil demon. After each escape, he went on to kill more people before finally being captured for the last time. At his execution, the judge allowed the presence of no less than 9 Zulu chieftains to ensure that the tokoloshe did not save him from the hangman’s noose.

That case happened almost 60 years ago. I draw your attention now to a recent event that made headlines in our local newspapers.

On July 19th 2008, 29-year-old Nicolette Lotter stabbed her mother Maria to death, while her brother Hardus strangled their father Johannes. The siblings did not hesitate to confess. Nicolette’s boyfriend at the time, Matthew Naidoo, was also implicated in the murders. According to both brother and sister, Naidoo had considerable influence over them and convinced the siblings to kill their parents. According to Nicolette, he claimed to be the ‘Son of God’ and that their parents deserved to die.

In 2011, Nicolette Lotter dropped a bombshell, claiming that she had been sexually molested by a tokoloshe that often visited her at night. The attacks only stopped when she became intimate with Naidoo. Naidoo became her saviour so-to-speak. Nicolette also accused her domestic worker of practising witchcraft on her and causing her psychological distress. Both siblings were sentenced to 12 years in prison each while Naidoo was given a life sentence

Apart from murder and other crimes, the Tokoloshe has also been blamed for the spread of HIV Aids; and not just in South Africa but in other parts of the African continent as well. One report from Zimbabwe years back claimed that a great percentage of Aids counsellors in the country were convinced that the Tokoloshe visited women at night and raped them in their beds thus spreading the virus. (http://www.safarinewsreel.com/blog/?p=227)

Nicolette Lotter stands trial at the Durban High Court. Image taken from Pretoria News.

On a personal note, the one thing that fascinates me about the myth of the tokoloshe is that its influence crosses cultural and racial boundaries. South Africa is a verifiable melting-pot. But with our turbulent past (consider racial segregation), belief in this little demon is not culturally exclusive. If you are South African or have affiliations with the country in some way, whatever your ethnicity, knowledge of the Tokoloshe is naturally assumed even if you do not believe in it.

If you are from SA and have a story to tell, please don’t hesitate! And if you are not, what do you think about this mischievous little devil of ours?

Don’t forget to check out the great links below for more information on the Tokoloshe!

NM 🙂

Tokoloshe Influences

Movies

Tokoloshe (1971) – starring Sid James, Mangosuthu Buthelezi

Blood Tokoloshe (2012) –  dir. Jordan Harland

A Reasonable Man (1999) – starring Nigel Hawthorne, Gavin Hood

Literature

Tales of the Tokoloshe – Pieter Scholtz and Cherie Treweek (Struik Publishers)

The Tokoloshe Stone – Jay Heale (Tafelberg Publishers)

The Little Man – Nisha Moodley (unpublished) (Sorry, I couldn’t help a little bit of selfless self-promotion there, LOL)

Music

‘Evil Boy’ (2010) – Die Antwoord (Cherrytree Records)

‘Hosh Tokoloshe’ (2011) – Jack Parow (Parowphernalia)

Websites

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tikoloshe

http://www.vanhunks.com/tokoloshe1.html

http://www.murderpedia.org/male.M/m/msomi-elifasi.htm

http://www.yorkparanormals.com/profiles/blogs/tikoloshe-african-vampire

Articles

All info on the Lotter case taken from www.iol.co.za

http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-africa/kwazulu-natal/i-was-raped-by-tokoloshe-lotter-1.1175201

http://www.safarinewsreel.com/blog/?p=227

50 thoughts on “The Tokoloshe – An HML Post

  1. Widdershins says:

    Sounds like the sort of scapegoat that all cultures have. I guess the blame game really is universal.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Wow, that’s fascinating! I have to agree with Widdershins, it does sound as if they are using it as a scapegoat, but it’s amazing that it’s actually blamed in real news cases and that it’s so widespread.
    So I have two questions for you:
    1.) Do you believe in it?
    2.) Does it ever cause mischif all by itself or does it only sort of influence others and give them a push in a certain direction. Or is it like they have been hypnotised?

    Very interesting post!! 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      *giggles*
      Do I believe in it? Weellll, as with ghosts and aliens, I’ve never had any experiences so I would have to say no. 🙂 Although I am convinced that there are many people who genuinely believe in its existence. When I was young, we had a housekeeper who lived with us and in her room she had her bed suspended on bricks.

      Thats a very good question, Becks, when we hear cases of the tokoloshe, it often seems like they’re acting on their own but according to theory they can only be conjured up by a sangoma(witchdoctor). With the sexual attacks, I’m reminded of the Incubus- they almost seem identical in fact. In other respects I would say its a form of demon possession-except you can see the demon.
      In the case with HIV/AIDS, it definitely is being used as a scapegoat. However with Lotter and Msomi, I’m not so sure. Like I said some people do genuinely believe in it, and we often hear about serial killers ‘hearing voices.’ I cant see this being any different. 🙂

    • Tori says:

      Hey, so uhm i’m not the exact person who wrote this- but i do know a whole lot on this malevolent creature. So, considering after reading this article thoroughly, (1) i would say that the writer is a skeptical believer. I’m sorry i’m not her- But i want to give you answers.

      (2) I would assume since both cases involved the persons’ to confess for the Tokoloshe to of “influenced” them… i would say yes, they were. And also if you dig deep enough into the lure, there are unrecorded/ or unsolved cases. One particular one is that a man once stated that he committed a murder. And when they brought the so called person in for questioning, all he/she said was “…The Tokoloshe is coming… What did i do… why did i say such a thing… he shall kill me if i do not leave… let me go.” He repeated this over and over until the police had to release him into a psychiatric ward believing he wasn’t mentally stable to go home. They searched his residence… and when the officers visited the hospital for more questioning, he had killed himself. He stole a scalpel from someone unknown and had slit his throat. A written message was carved into his bedside stating “… Anything is better then Tokoloshe.” I fear maybe he had killed the victim because he was under the influence of the Tokoloshe, and slit his throat since the lure states that if you speak of this Tokoloshe after spotting it- unfortunate things will come your way. Such as illness, unluckiness and even death according to SA.

      I hope that answered your questions! It was nice for me to find someone as enthusiastic as me to share this with- thanks. And btw- the reason why i believe/ know so much about this is because i was born and raised in SA :/
      Kinda’ a creepy story to grow up with as a kid, eh?

  3. jenniferneri says:

    Great post, Nisha.

    I find it very startling that AIDS councellors believed in this, and I find it frightening because I am not sure what this says about the type of counceling they were giving these women.

    As I’ve mentioned before, my husband comapres the tokoloshe to the booggey monster. The strories he heard growing up in SA where meant to frighten children into doing what their parents bid them to, but they were told in fun, not seriously.

    • Nisha says:

      Hope you enjoyed this post Jennifer.
      I am completely with you on those Counselors unfortunately its not something new where I come from.Even tho that report was from Zimbabwe, we live in a very misogynistic and patriachal society and especially in the rural areas of SA, men are often not held accountable for their actions. We hear often about men who cheat on their wives, get infected and bring the virus home. Infected women are often ostracised by their communities but the men suffer no consequence. I have no doubt that the tokoloshe is being used to cover up the truth in this case, especially since its coming from the counselors and not the women themselves.

      But like I said in reply to Becky’s comment, I have no doubt that some people do really believe in its existence. Every culture/society has its Boogyman. Ours just happens to influence our society much more than expected… 😛

  4. trixfred30 says:

    I had to look up about this because I can’t think of a bogeyman in Britain – seems like we don’t have one!?

    • Nisha says:

      Trixfred, you do your country a great disservice. The British Isles are teeming with midget-like bogeymen- the Boggart, the brownie, the hobgoblin, malevolent Leprachauns(as supposed to the good ones) and Imps. Thats why I love Britain so much, you guys have mysterious supernatural creatures crawling about all over the place…LOL.

  5. There are many legends in the world that simply do not die no matter how “modern” our world becomes. “Spring-Heeled Jack” is a character from English folklore who made a habit of attacking young women. He was first sighted in 1837, but the latest claimed sighting was just two months ago, February 2012.

    North American indigenous people considered the “Thunderbird” a supernatural creature of power and strength. I’m not sure how many centuries back this legend goes, but I’ve read about several sightings in the past few years in Texas, North Dakota, and more than one in Pennsylvania.

    I love hearing about the legends from other nations. I need to learn more about the African tales. This “Tokoloshe” is an interesting character. He reminds me of “Curupi” from Paraguay who is similarly well-endowed. (So much so, that he can stand outside of a house and steal the virtue of girls sleeping within.) He has also been blamed for many violent attacks against women, and has taken the blame for many unwanted pregnancies.

    Thanks for all the info. You did a great job with this post!

    • Nisha says:

      The Thunderbird and the Curupi. Now those names are new to me. The thunderbird reminds me of the Mothman. Wonder if they are similar? Thanks Laura, I will be checking up on those! And glad you enjoyed this HML post. 🙂

  6. This is very interesting – tell me are there supposed to be female Tokoloshe also or are there simply males with their long ding dongs? I think your answer will be quite telling.

    • Nisha says:

      Interesting question Michelle, I’m not sure. I’ve only ever heard of male ones. Although I know there are female demon-like creatures in African myth, I do think the Tokoloshe is exclusively male…

      • I did wonder at first if it is the idea that only the male, with his all powerful priapic member, has the agency , to hand out bad things, almost like punishments. I am at odds, I don’t know whether Tokoloshe was originally male propaganda as to the power of the penis – the reason I say this is because of the size of the phallus, it seems to be promoting a phallocentric power base. It seems to have backfired though as Tokoloshe seem to be the root of many evils. They remind me of the Goblin Men in Christina Rossetti’s Goblin Market. If you don’t know it, look it up, it is a corker!

      • Nisha says:

        You seem very fixated with its enormous progenitive organ Michelle, HA HA ROFL!!! I’m just messing with ya! 😀

        If you look at most folkloric tales, these often have a moral message in them and the proverbial ‘trickster’ or boogeyman is represented as a source of fear, handing out ‘punishments’. Most of them seem to be male though,well-endowed or not. Maybe it was originally a form of male propaganda but also bear in mind that men are just as much victims of the Tokoloshe as women are. I do believe however that over the years, it has started to be used as a scapegoat especially in the case of the spread of HIV aids. I tried to look up the origins of the Tokoloshe myth but to no avail. It almost seems to have sprung fully-formed into our psyche…

      • When I studied Literature, psychoanalytic theory was in fashion and it was so rude you would not believe it. There have been times when we have been discussing texts, it has taken a wrong turning and we have been crying with laughter. It has never left me. Do you think that the role of the Tokoloshe has changed dramatically then over the years? I love folktales and myths but using it to blame the spread of aids is very worrying. I am also intrigued that you can’t find the origins of the Tokoloshe, this would suggest a prehistoric origin. If you find out anything, can you let me know?

      • Nisha says:

        Not necessarily of pre-historic origin. Im not an expert but I do know with indigenous African cultures, as recently as 100 years ago,folk and morality tales were spread by storytelling (there’s a special word for this but for the life of me I cant think what it is LOL.) There was no written documentation, everything spread by word of mouth. This is probably the most likely reason I couldn’t find anything. If I find anything new will definitely let you know 🙂
        I dont think the myth has changed much at all. Thats whats so intriguing. Usually with creatures like vampires, they undergo a metamorphosis according to the trends/values of specific time periods in terms of their representation. The attributes of the Tokoloshe hasn’t changed much. Of course with the advent of the Aids epidemic, its become a convenient excuse.
        LOL, I studied psychology and psychoanalysis years back, and it also gave me a good giggle 😀

    • RecursiveRaj says:

      I have not heard much about gender in tokoloshe. But, if a South African male believed he was molested by a supernatural creature, it’s highly unlikely that he would make it public knowledge. His pride and reputation would be at stake.

      • Nisha says:

        Thats a very good point! Usually, when we hear of males being possessed, its never in the form of sexual assault. He’s either being told to kill or commit other crimes. Women are usually the rape victims. This itself might be reflective of gender bias though…

        Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      • Thank you for that. That is a very interesting point. This is all new to me and it is intriguing. I hope you don’t mind me trying to pick your brains but do you know where the stories originated from?

      • RecursiveRaj says:

        As Nisha said, up until 100 years ago, southern African lore was passed on orally, since the languages had no written form. It is likely to be from stories passed on by mouth over centuries. Although the commonly used word is Xhosa, most of the nations hail from a common migratory ancestor, so they all could have had their own stories about it.

        It’s interesting to point out that most of the Muslim migrants from Asia (and north/central Africa) to South Africa believe that the tokoloshe is a physical manifestation of supernatural Jinns. Many even claimed that reading prayers that ward off jinns have protected them during tokoloshe attacks.

        If tokoloshe/Jinns are real and not just a figment of imagination, maybe humans and ants aren’t the only creatures that have cross continental colonies…

      • Thank you for that, yes it was Nisha who got me interested in the first place. The part about reading prayers to ward off Jinns has struck a chord here. Years ago whilst on holiday in France, we discovered we had rented a house with a not so nice presence. I was so alarmed I had my small son sleeping in bed with me to protect him. In the middle of the night, the presence seemed to have landed on me. I shouted the Christian Lord’s Prayer out loud – it just came out. The presence left.

      • Nisha says:

        Holy smokes, Michelle, that must have been quite an experience!
        I didn’t mention this in my post but traditional sangomas(witchdoctors) often sell amulets and potions specifically designed to ward of the tokoloshe. Sometimes walking down the street in the CBD area, I see advert signboards claiming that Dr. So-and-so will cure all your health, money, marriage and….tokoloshe problems! People who don’t follow traditional medicine however often seek help within other religions-Christianity, Islam etc. So I’m not surprised that there are specific prayers that have a reputation of warding off certain demons.

      • That is all so interesting to me as I have had quite a few strange experiences. The logical side of me says C’mon – there has to be a scientific explanation but when these experiences happen to us we do question it.

  7. Fascinating stuff, Nisha! Reminds me of the loch ness monster, on a much larger level. And hmm… Perhaps the female Tokoloshe’s are simply sneakier. 😉

    • Nisha says:

      If Nessie ever starts attacking people, I have no idea what I would do with myself! Lol. Maybe the females are sneakier, and maybe more charming? 😀

  8. I blame Tokolshes for that apostrophe than snuck in there!

  9. Woah, and the ‘n’ in ‘that.’ Now I’m really getting freaked… (LOL)

  10. Barb says:

    I did not know about this. Now one more thing to look for in my closet, under my clothes late at night. Although I do enjoy a good scare every now and then. Thanks for the education. I’ll be looking for a tokoloshe (which is really fun to say) in a theater near me soon.

  11. Martin Shone says:

    He’s a wicked little thing isn’t he, and he resembles someone 😉

  12. danandan says:

    I read your blog and as a South African I find it incredibly inaccurate and offensive. The woman is clearly mentally ill. The woman was most likely abused by her father and created this scenario in her mind as an escape. A creature like this exists as a myth in African culture, but nobody in South-Africa takes is seriously and your blog seems to imply that.

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you for your comment. I assume the woman you refer to is Nicolette Lotter.
      I don’t mean to be nasty but I find it ironic that you called my post inaccurate. “The woman was most likely abused by her father…” MOST likely? So you are not sure then? Please make sure of your facts before you jump to conclusions. There has been no evidence to suggest that Johan Lotter abused his daughter. In fact, whatever I’ve read up on, claims Nicolette was a ‘doting daughter’ who loved her parents but was influenced by Naidoo to kill them.
      Please read this:
      http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-africa/kwazulu-natal/making-of-a-killer-haunted-by-demons-1.1263135?ot=inmsa.ArticlePrintPageLayout.ot
      Even if she is making the whole thing up, the point I’m trying to make is that the Tokoloshe as a concept is very influential. Everybody in this country knows about it.

      Yes the tokoloshe is a myth, but that doesn’t mean some people don’t believe in them. It’s the same with the Yeti, aliens, Chupacabra, Mothman etc. Most people are very cynical when it comes to these but then there are others who genuinely believe in them. If YOU believe its only a myth thats great, but don’t judge others for what they believe.
      You said my post is offensive. If I have offended you personally in some way, I do apologise but you haven’t explained why. I’ve stated my sources clearly. Please have a look at them.

  13. I dont find the post offensive in any way. In South Africa there are many who believe in this creature. And crimes have been blamed on it as well. But offensive i think not, it is purely an opinion, based on articles and research done by Nisha. The Nicolette Lotter case did also have “demons” brought into it, besides the fact that her grandmother told her stories of the “Tokoloshe” (http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-africa/kwazulu-natal/making-of-a-killer-haunted-by-demons-1.1263135). But that’s just my opinion.

    • Nisha says:

      Thanks Ricky-Lee 🙂 , I would also like to point out that I did not imply in my post in any way that Lotter was genuine in her testimony, nor did I say she was making it up. I was just stating what was on record. Whether the reader chooses to believe her is up to them.

  14. bhavyasaluja says:

    very weird indeed.i dont think its something to believe but yes if someone has really experienced it then its a different point of view.i liked this post,somenthing new to know.

    • Nisha says:

      Yes, it’s not a myth that the rest of the world knows about, yet I do think its worthy of being up there with Chupacabra and Mothman etc. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  15. Daniel says:

    This is fascinating! I’ve never heard of this before. I love hearing myths, creatures, and ghost stories from other places. So much tradition, history, and just great stories go unnoticed, while the world sits through yet another movie about Greek mythology. Thank you for sharing that. I’m glad I found your blog.

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you Daniel! As a student of Classics and Greek mythology myself, even I have to agree with you! We are often inundated with the same stories and legends over and over again yet there is so many rich traditions across the globe that go unnoticed.
      Glad you enjoyed my piece Daniel, and do stop by again! 🙂

  16. melissa says:

    what a fascinating blog Nisha, I only came upon it as academia edu said my name had been found in a post relating to this, but it referd to my hubby anyway. I have bookemarked it to go to sometime to enjoy your writing. Just to the person who warded off an evil presence in a holiday home, we had the same thing on a house swap, it was with a very suburban modern home in the bath area of GB, but the presence was horrid and pictures were crashing down, the lights going out when there were no local power cuts etc. I performed a Lesser banishing ritual of the Pentagram and several other cleansings of the ceremonial magical traditions and the phenomena stopped, though the place was still eerie, I phoned the owners about it and they said they were unaware of anything like that. However when we got home one of their children had taken one of my daughters dolls and burned all its extremeties off as well as other mutliations, and had pulled all the fluffy pink feathers off a picture frame etc. i firmly believe thye had a disturbed child who impregnated thier home with his energy, as well as defiled my duaghters things, and never house swapped again! Not relevant to your original post at all, but in the story telling mode you have created here. all the best for your writing.

    • Raj says:

      Hi Melissa. That must have been a frightening experience. Assuming that the child is fairly young, why do you think it less likely that the presence is completely independent of him? It sounds plausible that it had influenced him rather than the other way round, eg. via possession. From what I’ve seen, children are more susceptible to these things.
      Sorry for trailing off topic, Nisha.

      • Nisha says:

        No problem, like I said in reply to Melissa, if the parents were really unaware of what was going on then obviously they had not experienced any poltergeist activity. Yet Melissa and her family did, and given the nature of that little boy, I’m inclined to think that he probably had some control over it. Of course this is all conjecture on my part. I might be wrong…

      • melissa says:

        Thanks for your comments Raj and Nisha. You know, I never for one moment thought of a sort of Poltergeist/possesion sort of thing, though Bath is steeped in history and the new house may have been built on something. I am as Nisha spotted a Wiccan, so for me, although there are entities out there I’d rather not engage with, most energies come from ourselves, including the doorways with which we engage in the other world. I had a friend with me who witnessed the wierd activity and she was scared stiff, but more scared when I was able to stop it, though we all slept with the lights on. I am a practising ceremonial magician as well as a Wiccan so the quickest way to cleanse and seal the space seemed to be an LBR, which has a very long history of use in creating sacred space and protection. As a Wiccan I also bought a nice house quite cheap when I was younger, with a horrid atmosphere, I thought I’d clear it quite quickly with the balancings adn cleansing I did as part of my daily practice, but it took a long time to really do so, the most effective part was actually when we were able to strip all the wallpaper and carpets which got rid ofhte last bits of physical conatct with the previous owners, who were pretyy awful. I learned my lesson and bought a really nice house with a really nice vibe from really nice people after that. I think the terrible child who destroyed the toys at our house would have left a pretty nasty atmosphere, and of course wonder how and why he was like that in the first place, the house was not a home by any stretch of imagination and that was our last swap. As a witch people think you love the oogly booglies but I do not “do” them, banish first and ask questions later has always been my motto! Maybe a small part of its lure to me was to learn how to communicate and deal with otherworldy presences, even if that is to say, please go contact some else who wants to talk! I have seen ghosts but that was different, just nice people standing there then gone, not threatening at all in my experience. I do think people have an energy field/aura and do impregnate their environments, just as we also draw from environments. But maybe the two things were un connected, there was paranormal activity, and a nasty kid, I would have expected the parents to show some surprise had they never had that sort of thing at their house before, or disbeleiving, but they were neither, which made me wonder a bit, needless to say we did not exchange Xmas cards!

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you for your comment Melissa!
      What a horrific experience! I’m surprised that the owners said they were unaware of this. Assuming that they are telling the truth about their (ignorance), I initially had this terrible thought that maybe the child was controlling the spirit rather than the other way around. I know this sounds far-fetched but I’ve heard of many stranger things happening.
      I’m interested in the Pentagram ritual you used. Are you Wiccan by any chance? Feel free to email me if you have any reservations about posting here.
      And no worries, I’m glad my post is encouraging discussion. Thanks for taking the time to read it! 🙂

  17. Anonymous for Now says:

    Tokoloshe(aka Goblin) do exist. In fact, I still don’t believe I’ve being staying with one of this creatures for almost a decade. I’m a South African man who got saved from this creature, which I suppose was being used to guard and check on me if I brought a girlfriend who’s NOT practising black magic in my apartment, because according to the priest, this tokoloshe has been staying with me from one apartment to another even before I had a girlfriend. Although not so tangible but I’ve compelling reasons to believe this was set on me for this reason, to carry out it’s orders if I had a girlfriend who didn’t belong to a network of black magicians. I’m not that quite sure what it was suppose to do in case I had a good girlfriend in my apartment because it has never done anything to my first girlfriend whom I later discovered she was practising black magic.

    I believe I now understand the suspension of beds on bricks. I didn’t know the real reason for that till this blog. Since my ex-girlfriend left I started sighting some glimpses of midget pulling my bed sheet if I slept on the side of the bed touching the wall. Apparently, this tokoloshe wanted me on the side it could reach me, for reasons I’m not sure of. Sometimes it would play with my vision when my siblings visited. It would make them appear like creatures to me, I guess the intention was to make me attack my siblings under the superimposed images it put on my eye sight to disguise them as if they are some creatures to me. Fortunately, the stories I heard about this kind of things better prepared me for this kind of eventuality and also saved my siblings from me.

    When these illusions first happened, I quickly thought about what it could be as my sibling(who appeared as some scary little creature to me) entered the room I was in before doing anything which I could now be leaving with its remorse for the rest of my life. At the same time I was asking myself a question, how could this creature have made it this far into this room without first going through the room my sibling was in? That helped me realise what I was seeing wasn’t that real, from the sitting room where my sibling was, should have saw this creature first. I didn’t panic at all, perhaps was because the figment’s height wasn’t that imposing to me, it looked just above my knees’ height. I looked away, but kept the creature on the corner of my other eye, and relied on my other remaining four sensors as a form of restrain action to myself from making first move and make things worse. So, I didn’t make a move, only pretended as if I don’t see anything but ready myself for a fight if that’s what the creature wanted. Believe you me, the superimposed image just faded out the moment my sibling uttered the first word saying there’s someone on the phone wanted to speak to me while handing over the cellphone.

    My opinion about sighting a tokoloshe set on you is, if you are a spiritual person or perhaps having some little bit of psychic powers you can at times see these creatures, feel their presence and even sense when they are staring at you. These feelings and glimpses of the widget that used to pull my bed sheet is what made me seek someone with more powers and extensive knowledge of chasing or slaying this creatures. Fortunately, for the creature, I found a priest who chased it instead. According to the priest the one who deserve a punishment is the person who abused both me and this creature by setting it on me in the first place. He said by chasing it, the person who set it on me is having a taste of their own medicine.

Leave a Reply

