The Lucky 7 Challenge


“I think it’s important to note our own situation at the time. You see, I was having a bit of trouble selling my goods. Apparently foreign merchants heard of the curse that inflicted our Island and had ceased their trading with us. Hence I did not have many customers as my shells were of no use to the locals.
Mother and I were surviving on very little at that point and it was obvious that while contemplating our situation in her “moment of idleness,” she entertained the thought of leaving.
We went to bed very late that night. We sat up discussing what to do but it almost seemed like our minds were made up.
It made me nervous to think that our future lay in the next few days of our planning.”

Okay that was embarrassing.

Lovely Louise over at My Other Book Is a Tolstoy was kind enough to tag me in the Lucky 7 Challenge:

The idea is to go to page 7 or 77 of your current work in progress, go down to the 7th line, then copy and paste approximately 7 lines in raw, unedited form. Tag some friends to join in the challenge!

Because my WIP is a collection of shorts and I am currently editing it, one story at a time, I decided to choose an extract from the very next story on my list that hasn’t gone through a serious modification process as yet.
That story is the Beast of Kipwe Island and guess what number it is on my little chart? Yep, you guessed it, its number 7!!! How’s that for freaky coincidence???
So the extract above is from page 7, lines 7 -14, in the raw and in the nude so to speak. I didn’t touch it even though I was tempted to… 🙂

I know I tagged a whole lot of you guys for 11 Questions last time so I won’t tag anyone today but if you want to have a go at this challenge and post an unedited extract of your WIP on your blog, you can use my name and do so! It would be fun to see what you guys are working on.

Once again thank you to Louise for thinking of me, and until next time, happy writing!

NM 🙂

30 thoughts on “The Lucky 7 Challenge

  1. nelle says:

    How cool…the Beast, eh? Ayee! 🙂 I might give it a shot this week. My next post is about yesterday’s doings, but… Tuesday – if I can remember!

    • Nisha says:

      Oh yes please do! I want to see what your unedited stuff looks like! He he! If only to feel better about myself! 😀 LOL.

      • nelle says:

        What I’ll have to do is pull up the original draft and find the wording, so you’ll have that plus it’s 4th edit refinement. It’s a rather tame paragraph. 🙂

        What’s not to feel good about your writing? Do I have to show my ferocious teeth and growl?

      • Nisha says:

        You know, this has taught me something. I was reading somewhere that good writing is were every sentence should be able to tell a story. Although I find this impossible to do, especially in a 300-500 page book, even a small paragraph should be able to take us somewhere. Easier said than done of course. 😉

        Although I can’t imagine you writing a ‘tame’ paragraph Nelle. Your ‘tame’ is probably equivalent to my ‘brilliant.’ LOL. And don’t you worry, I can hear the growls from here… 😀

  2. Widdershins says:

    If this is your raw stuff Nisha, it’s rather good!
    Here’s my 7th page, 7 lines down – from a journal I kept when I had just started my Shaman apprenticeship. It’s going to be a book one day in the not too distant future … if I can just make up my mind how I’m going to tell the story!

    ‘The old Morton Bay fig tree was there to hold and keep safe the ordinary things of my physical life. Things that were not appropriate for me to take along as I went off and did whatever I was going to do. Things like how stressed I felt in just getting to the room late, a tough week at work, studies at University, all the relationship issues I was processing on a minute-to-minute basis. Al the dross of day-to-day living. With a level of apprehension that I was only just becoming aware of, I put all these things into a large weightless ebony ball that appeared in my hands, and lodged it in a comfortable little nook between two branches of the tree.’

    • Nisha says:

      Ooooh, now this is a book I would definitely buy! Is it an autobiography or will it be a novel that’s autobiographical in content?

      • Widdershins says:

        That’s my dilemma. That and the fact I’d only transcribed about half the entries into my computer, and thought I’d lost the diaries in the move from Australia to Canada. They turned up while we were packing to move out here to our gorgeous island. I’m certain that as I transcribe them the format will make itself known.

        Now that the aftershocks of the move are pretty much done with, I’m ready to focus on my writing again, and was debating where to start, until I decided to post the above excerpt. Thanks Nisha for kickstarting my next book.

      • Nisha says:

        Awesome! I eagerly await the final product! No pressure… 😉

  3. I really like that and would love to hear more.

  4. Martin Shone says:

    This is from a story I started ages and ages ago called Jelly. I only have one page of it written and this is from the middle.

    The wind wafted the gut-wrenching odour through the crowd; who cheered when it reached their nostrils, like their predecessors did as the guillotine chopped.
    The executioner stood as the last drip splashed, mixed and smouldered.
    The prisoner, wearing spiked gloves, had his arms set free. His fierce scratching at the unreachable itch drew blood to the surface which mixed with the black acid. His hands were retied and the crowd watched and waited as the odious pool on his back slowly set like jelly.
    The crowd hushed as, like new seeds poking through virgin earth, little wings broke through the skin; which wobbled and twisted as the prisoner screamed in pain. They grew and grew, and flapped and flapped.

  5. […] Lucky 7 Challenge yesterday, and while she coaxed me not, thought I’d give it a […]

  6. mj monaghan says:

    You ALL are very good. Even the comments are excellent! 🙂

  7. You’re a talented lady, Nisha. Keep writing!

  8. […] her 29th April blog post, frog Nisha talked about the ‘Lucky 7 Challenge’ where a writer goes to their current WIP (Work In Progress) and on either page 7 or 77, go down […]

  9. Wow, you are so super organised! I love that chart so much, you have no idea. And you’re a busy bee also, look at all those WIPS! Thanks for taking part my dear 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      No problem Louise, I admit, it was a fun exercise. Of course, all those listed on the chart are shorts. I wish they were full-length novels – how incredible would that be! 🙂

  10. clarbojahn says:

    I came here from Widdershin’s blog post about this and am so thrilled! All of this is making me want to go look what I have in drawers and journals of long ago. Maybe I’ll join in the fun. Should I pick number seven journal or just one at random? I have so many.

    And yes, the chart is spectacular. I’m definitely going to use that as I transcribe my journals into the computer. I’ll keep you posted.

    • Nisha says:

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Yes the chart was just something I created so I could keep track of my stories. I think this challenge was created for those writing a book and having to share a piece of that uncompleted work but it seems to have inspired many people to dig up old WIP’s that seem almost forgotten. This makes me happy because no written prose should go unread! 😀
      Yes do keep me posted, will look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

