My tribute to my beloved Garfy.


On Saturday night my cat Garfield passed away. Details are sketchy but we believe he was run over by a car. I cannot fully explain the pain and sorrow his death had brought me. For the past few days I have not been myself. He was one of my best friends and his absence is so noticeable, it’s terribly difficult not to think about it.


I know everybody thinks their pets are unique and special but Garfy’s personality and character drew no comparisons. His crazy antics were legendary and he was always a source of comic relief. At only one-and-a-half years of age, his death I feel, came too soon.
In the wee hours of Sunday morning, I wrote a poem in a moment of great distress. It was an attempt to alleviate the grief. It didn’t work and I had no idea what I had written but in tribute to a wonderful soul, I want to share it with you.
I’m no poet and this poem, I think, bears testimony to that fact. It is unedited, unpolished, un-everything. Some parts rhyme, some don’t, some might not even make sense. I tried to modify it and edit it to make it more presentable but the more I looked at my words, the more it made me want to cry.

This is the best I could do for a friend I will sorely miss.

 

Your virescent green eyes stare back at me,
As I close mine,
You came into our lives but for a short while.
But in that time you brought us joy
Yet why you were taken away from us
So young, I’ll never know why.

You made us smile, you made us giggle,
You brought us laughs when you fell off the bed.
You made your presence felt,
My clothes will forever miss the long red hairs you shed.

Your incessant demands for attention in the form of wailing croons,
Bringing dead birds into the house and up to my room,
As annoying as these were, we couldn’t help but love you
For everything about you that was wonderful,
It was your personality that shone through.

Your sweetness and your vigour,
Your bushy squirrel’s tail and demeanour,
Exuded vitality and boundless energy,
Keeping us on our toes, and never off our guard.

I will miss your loud, nasal purr.
I will miss your meows signalling your presence.
I will miss your dirty pawprints on my manuscripts.
I will miss those tiny massages you used to give me.
I will miss you stretched out across the bed when you slept.
I will miss the blackjacks in your fur.
I will miss your distinct scent.
I will miss you crying outside my bedroom window,
Wanting to come in, at all hours of the day.
How you always made a beeline for Dookie’s bowl,
Much to his dismay.

There is one thing I will miss the most however.

You opened the door to our hearts and……to our rooms!
Never again will I hear the distinct clanging of a door,
Marking your entrance.
No closed door ever stopped to you from being with us.
Never again will I hear the distinct clanging of the door handle,
By a beautiful intruder while I dressed, showered or slept.

You were larger than life and now your absence breaks my heart.
You loved us even when we scolded you and you bore us no grudges.
You seized every moment and lived your life to the fullest.

Positive and trusting, you were a carefree spirit,
But the house is so empty now with you gone.
Time will never make me forget you,
No matter how long.

 

***********************************
Ps. Garfield’s most famous talent was opening doors. He would jump up and with his front paws grab hold of the door handle and push forward with his weight. It was impossible to keep him out of any room…

33 thoughts on “My tribute to my beloved Garfy.

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I’m so so sorry to hear about this Nisha. 😦 Cats are contrary, and if given the chance will pester you half to death, but one innocent look makes you forgive them in a second… I think a lot of people without pets don’t realize how quickly they weave their way into your heart, and your daily routine.
    I’m welling up just reading your post. :/ I’ve only ever had the one cat that I have at the moment, and I’m so utterly attached, I would be absolutely distraught.

    I think your poem is raw and beautiful, and if Garfield could have read, I’m sure he would of loved it. He was lucky to have such a great owner who loved him, even if it was only for a short time…

    R.I.P Garfy

    Sending prayers and cyberhugs your way Nisha. xx

    • Nisha says:

      Becky, treasure every moment you have with your little baby. Life is so uncertain and we never know what lies ahead.

      Thank you for your love and support, you have no idea how it’s helped me 🙂

  2. Widdershins says:

    Bon Voyage Garfy . . . got a candle in the window for you both.

    Fellow cat staffer, Widder

  3. nelle says:

    {{{{{Nisha}}}}} It’s a lovely poem, and an apt tribute to one of the family. His mark on your life remains with you… nothing can ease the pain save time, but words from our minds, the tributes written, they matter.

    I’ve lost too many, I’ve written through the blur of tears, and each one lost stays with me still.

    I’m sorry for your loss, and wish for a way to make it better.

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you Nelle. I hope I did him justice. I’m counting on time to do its part. He wasn’t the type that was quiet and docile, he was a lovable little rascal was Garfy which will make it impossible for us to forget him.

      Your kind words and support have made things better Nelle, and once again thank you for being such a great friend! xxx

  4. thahir says:

    thats such a beautiful poem and one that encapsulates garfs nature. i will miss him too.

    my most fondest memories of garfy is the way he always found a way to dooksters bowl oh and the way he would squeel persistently for food even after he just ate.

    to a loyal cat,friend, and door man – hope heaven stocked up on petleys:'(

    • Nisha says:

      Oh how he coveted food! Lol. Yes he gave Deucalion a tough time with the food issue yet I know Dooks misses him too.

      Thank you for being there when I really needed you. I’m not sure what I would have done without you. 😥

  5. Marc Schuster says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s amazing how deeply our pets can touch our lives.

  6. I think that the beautiful tribute you have written says it all. It is dreadful to lose a beloved pet when they are old but it is unthinkable when they are so young. I think the biggest consolation is that he had a wonderful home and was truly loved, so his time was short but to the full. Thinking of you in your sorrow.

    • Nisha says:

      That is my biggest hope, that he was happy when he was alive and that he knew how much we loved him. As young as he was, he made his impact and it’s amazing how many stories we have to tell.
      Thank you Michelle for your loving energy and support, you truly are an angel. xxx

      • From what I have seen and heard of Garfy’s life, I am sure that he knew how much he was loved. Cats have such a special instinct. My heart goes out to you Nisha. I know how painful it is to lose a cat, you have to take one day at a time, don’t try to rush your grieving, let it take its slow natural course. Big hugs and love to you.

  7. Oh, Nisha. You have me sniffling all over the elliptical. Thank you for being such a great mama to your furry friend. One heaven I’m sure exists is full of animals. So much love to you!

    • Nisha says:

      I truly do hope that I was a good mother to him, August. Thank you for your messages of love and support, you have no idea how much it means to me. xxx

  8. So sorry to hear about Garfield, Nisha. The poem was beautiful, so heartfelt. A worthy tribute to an amazing friend.

  9. Lois says:

    How sad, sorry to read this but your poem is a sweet tribute

  10. jenniferneri says:

    I know how hard it is to loose a cat. I am most certainly a cat person and have lived with one almost my whole life. And you are right–you never forget them. Sometimes I still think I see them or hear them. Take comfort in that, he’ll always stay with you.

    • Nisha says:

      You know it’s funny that you say that Jennifer. I also feel sometimes like I can see him, at first I boiled it down to the grief I was feeling, but it would give me comfort to know that he was still around…

  11. Martin Shone says:

    This is very sad, Nisha, but beautiful too ❤ xxx

  12. It’s never easy to lose a friend! I thought your poem said it all very nicely. You are in my thoughts!

  13. Vale, Garfield. I’m more sorry than I can say for your loss Nisha. You’ve done a beautiful job with the poem and the photos are delightful – I’m sure you especially treasure that last one. With your words, he will never be forgotten!

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you so much Louise my darling, I’m glad my poem got your approval.
      You have no idea how painful it was to put up those pictures, everytime I look at them, my eyes well up. Especially that last one. Yet it will always be my favourite.
      Thank you for your kind sentiments my friend, lots of love to you xxx

  14. Sassy says:

    First off, nice poem. But aww. This is just so sad. Being a cat lover myself, I know what you’re going through. I felt terrible too when mine died 😦 True that there are a thousand, hell, a million cats out there — but the bond you’ve developed with your pet is — and will always be unbreakable. *virtual hugs* to you sweetie. Feel better.

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you Sassy. These bonds are greater than most of the human interactions we have. They are special and unconditional but off course there are some people who might not understand this.
      Thank you for your kind words and support! xxx

      • Sassy says:

        Well yes, both points are true. The special bond and the fact that not all people can understand and relate to that. And, You’re welcome. 🙂 Did you get a new pet?

  15. bhavyasaluja says:

    Am so sorry for ur loss,hope u`ll get over this phase soon.Very sweet pic of u and ur cat.

  16. thesubterraneanworld says:

    I am so sorry to hear that! 😦
    The poem makes it special !
    – Naima.

  17. trixfred30 says:

    Thats very sad- my sister took it badly when her favourite cat was hit by a car many years ago he looked like Garfield. And behaved like him too

Leave a Reply

