A Web-less life.


Due to my lack of urgency (and common sense of course) I did not renew my annual Internet subscription on time and due to other circumstances I was left web-less for nearly two weeks.

I survived, surprisingly, but being connected on my phone helped somewhat in this regard. Still it was debilitating, I won’t lie. Unable to read my emails, blog, read other blogs, do research, browse – it really made me wonder about the days before the existence of the Internet. Or most technology in fact.

A cellphone/mobile seems a mandatory accessory to have nowadays but I never had one in school (like most kids do now). We, back in the days, relied on landlines and payphones. We set specific times for our parents to pick us up at the cinema or friends’ house and stuck to those arrangements without hassle. There was no “I’ll call you when I’m done” sort of thing.
An avid young researcher I recall spending my afternoons in the library, lurking like a predatory beast amongst the archives and reference shelves for information on my assignments. Today, Cyberspace is home to Google, Wikipedia, JSTOR and other reference sites where a click of a button will give you all the info you need in the comfort of your own home.

It’s become easy. It’s become a normal part of life, so much so, we can’t do without it now. As a young girl I was considered cool (by some only! (coughs)) for having pen-pals ( I still have in my possession a box of old letters from former pen-friends). Now, it’s probably considered unusual if you DON’T have friends internationally whom you’ve never met.

Reminiscing can be fun, so how about you? Ever wonder about the days before the existence of Cyberspace or cellphones?(If you’re old enough to, that is 😉 )
And if you happen to be a young ‘un, can you imagine your life Internet and phone-free? Thoughts in general are always welcomed…

NM 🙂

33 thoughts on “A Web-less life.

  1. nelle says:

    Without the internet, without *any* phone in our home (my parents installed our phone when I was 12), without cable television. We hand wrote or used a typewriter.

    • Nisha says:

      Even though I appreciate the convenience of a word processor and emails, there’s just something about a handwritten note you can’t beat! 🙂

      • nelle says:

        If I want to convey something in an extra special sort of way, I’ll hand write on a cute card, although in fairness, I torture the reader with my handwriting. 😉

  2. I think I was almost forty before I had a computer – I had a typewriter and then a word processor. All my studies were done without the internet and yet now I would panic without it. Has it taken over do you think?

    • Nisha says:

      It’s like being in a dependable relationship. You love it, can’t be without it. It leaves you for a few weeks and you sit wandering what you’re going to do on a Saturday night. Taken over, yeah I think so…

      • Yes, you are right – we don’t realise sometimes how much we come to depend on other people. What amazes me though is that with the internet, I lived so long without it and yet I honestly can’t imagine it. It’s the same with children though, once you have them, it is hard imagining life before them. I think we should build a bunker and hide from-all these things taking us over. Ha Ha.

      • Nisha says:

        We can always retreat to that special island that we have… 😉

      • Sometimes, I feel as if I hid in a cupboard, Mildred would find me.

  3. I also had no computer for many years, and wrote everything in notebooks. On top of that, I lived far from town, felt very isolated, and my improvements as a writer were painfully slow. In fact, for a period of about 10 years, I gave up… quit writing completely.

    Our first computer was more of a toy for the husband and kids, as I didn’t know much about them. But then, one day I got brave, and started pushing buttons. Once I got the hang of it, I started to get excited about writing again.

    This is such an amazing age for writers! I mean, there are some things I look back upon with fondness, but I have to admit that I accomplished my goals today because of technological advancements. There’s no going back for me!

    • Nisha says:

      Laura, I actually keep two ornamental figurines of Roman scribes(They’re tiny, like 2 inches tall) to remind me of the ancient writers who use to transcribe everything by hand. Not just by hand, but by quill and ink as well. I keep it to remind me how lucky I am to live in an age where things are made relatively easy for a writer to accomplish his/her goals. It’s a means of curbing my procrastination(doesn’t always work though, LOL!!!). But you’re right, there is no going back… 🙂

  4. I feel like I can’t live without my mobile for a day. Sometime when I go out and forget my phone at home, I really miss it. I think I have became slave of these technologies and Internet for sure.

    • Nisha says:

      I think we have all become slaves to modern technology. When I lost my phone a few years back, I had to wait a week before purchasing a new one. It was like functioning without my right hand. Wasn’t cool at all.
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. Barb says:

    My router went out and I was amazed at how stunted my activities were. It made me vow to divest myself of the broadband addiction. Of course when the router was fixed, I was back on the web. Sigh.

  6. Widdershins says:

    We had a power outage the other day … four hours … and i felt like I was going into withdrawal … rather concerning actually.

    I’m on my computer throughout the day now I’m at home full time and writing. Now I actually turn it off when I do house chores or sit outside for lunch. It takes some getting used to.

    And … I’m someone else who didn’t get anywhere near a computer until my 30’s!

    • Nisha says:

      Four hours, Widders? Ha ha, awwww, still I feel for you. At least with my subscription I knew it would come on the day I renewed it but with power cuts, you never know when the lights are coming back on. It’s a good thing you don’t live here in South Africa, we have outages all the time. Last month an area near where I live(not mine thankfully) had no electricity for three days! Now imagine that… :-/

  7. beckyday6 says:

    Hahaa ha. I’m so glad you got your internet back anyway! When I think about how addicted people are to the internet I think back to my trip to New York. We’d only been there two days and when our group saw the Apple store they went mental and just HAD to go check their Facebook/s. It was ridiculous! Partly because I hate Facebook, but also because they hadn’t even gone that long without internet!
    I do get the twitch though, definitely! All the time. (Just not in the case of New York) haha.

    • Nisha says:

      Well, if I was on an adventure I wouldn’t care much about the Internet either to be honest. Only when it comes to getting things done and emailing then it becomes a necessity for me. But I guess for your young friends it was a priority no matter what! LOL. Facebook though? Really? :/
      And I must admit, if it wasn’t for Twitter on my phone I probably would have gone mental too 😛

      • beckyday6 says:

        Exactly! I mean, you have the Empire State building and Brooklyn Bridge, what an earth do you need the internet for? 😛
        Ha, ohh I’m with you there, I would definitely miss my Twitter, and my blog!

  8. jenniferneri says:

    A wip of mine is set in 1214 partly because I needed I technology to intferfere in the dynamic between the characters.

    I remember my mom typing, using white-out….lol…and that wasn’t all that long ago either!

    • Nisha says:

      Generally speaking, it wasn’t that long ago at all! The decades are flying by so fast it’s kind of scary :O I still remember my Nokia 3310 from 11 years ago. Ha ha!

      Thats one of the reasons I like writing historic fiction- no hardcore modern technology to meddle with an already confused brain 😉

  9. When I graduated from high school in the mid-1980’s, my parents bought me an electric typewriter. I was studying journalism in college and they told me every great writer needs a good instrument to write on. I still have it, although they haven’t made ribbons for it in years. While I love my laptop and find myself on my Blackberry way more often than I should be, I sometimes relish those days when I shut everything off and just THINK. Glad you’re back and wired again, Nisha! =)

    • Nisha says:

      Thank you Kelly, glad to be back! An electric typewriter sounds cool-I’ve never used one of those. Your parents are certainly right though. Good writing instruments are essential, even if its just good quality pen and paper! 😉
      Social networking is far too addictive. I do set aside a couple of days a week where I don’t use the internet, to give my brain a rest, but hell, it’s hard! 😛

  10. Rushil says:

    Nisha

    Did you try writing your article out on a page? To write now can be a chore. Most of our students are so used to typing out essays on their laptops that during the written exams, they struggle to complete long words before their hands begin to ache (Thus t nd 2 write n shthnd b4 t test finishes)

    Regards
    RR

    • Nisha says:

      I always write out everything by hand first before transcribing onto word processor. Even my stories and the novel I’m working on. It might seem a tedious thing to do and quite primitive in fact but I have to see my handwriting first for some reason. 😉
      But even I understand how it must be for your students. I write almost everyday(when I’m not editing) and even my hand cramps occasionally. So I can imagine how much worse it must be for them especially when they have to write as much as possible in a short amount of time…

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting… 🙂

  11. Martin Shone says:

    I’ve been without the internet for over two weeks till recently and I missed it. Although without it I did manage to get some extra reading done and played chess and even just relaxed! I know when I was growing up we didn’t have a phone and had to walk down to the shops to make a phone call and we only had one black & white TV.

    • Nisha says:

      Yes, I noticed but at least we both made it out alive! 😉

      Martin, you got to relax? I couldn’t relax thinking about all the emails that would be accumulating in my inbox and the drudgery of going through them…LOL. :O

  12. You’re a brave woman! I like taking breaks for the web, though two weeks seems the slightest bit daunting. I hope you got some fabulous writing time in!

    I often wonder how I managed to not get (more) lost pre-cell phones and internet. I rely on GPS and Mapquest more than I’d care to admit… 😉

    • Nisha says:

      LOL, thank you! Ha ha, but I also take breaks even when I have the internet but of course for two I had no choice 😦

      And yes, I managed to be very productive during that time. Got a lot of editing done (and writing) 😉
      Ah yes, navigation systems. Nothing wrong with getting lost though, August. You have some of the best adventures then 😉

  13. […] prezzie in the mailbox. Posted on October 2, 2012 by Nisha Staying in the spirit of a A Web-less Life, all I want to say is, I love the Internet. I really do. You meet such awesome people online that […]

Leave a Reply

