Beckster got me tagged!


Becky tagged me last month for some awesome questions, and I was more than happy to answer them. I won’t be setting new questions or tagging anyone but feel free to answer the ones below if you wish. If you’re a bibliophile like Beckster I’m sure you’d want to and I would love to see your responses…

1.) Which book do you think should be adapted into a film that hasn’t been already?
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (the last time I checked Sony bought the rights to the movie but it’s still in production). If this doesn’t count, then I choose Company of Liars by Karen Maitland.

2.) Which classic are you too scared to read/keep putting off? (E.g. War and Peace.)
Alexandre Dumas’ Count of Monte Cristo(scared) and a few Dickens books(putting off for no real reason, really)

3.) Sam or Dean Winchester? (Supernatural)
Dean (He’s Jensen Ackles right?).

4.) Do you think the paperback will become extinct and be fully replaced with the Kindle?
I certainly hope not.

5.) Have you ever had an experience with the paranormal? E.g Ghosts, aliens etc.
Nope. Despite my former active efforts to look for them 😉

6.) Your least favourite genre to read?
Sci-fi or Romance

7.) Who’s biography would you consider reading?
Really want to read Portia de Rossi’s Unbearable Lightness

8.) The best birthday present you’ve ever had?
My brother took me to see Oasis live in Manchester for my 20th birthday(eons ago)

9.) Your opinion on 50 Shades of Grey? (Whether you have read it or not.)
Haven’t read it yet, but I want to. I don’t like giving opinions on books I haven’t attempted to read.

10.) Your favourite place to read? In bed.

11.) Which books from present day do you think has the potential to become a classic 50/100 years down the line?
I think it depends on what the socio-political scene would be like in 50-100 years time. If there are any books written now that reflect that scene or are considered relevant, then they will definitely be earmarked as ‘classics.’

NM 🙂

14 thoughts on “Beckster got me tagged!

  1. jenniferneri says:

    I have The Historian on my night stand waiting to be read. I’m finishing up Shadown of the Night and then onto that one!
    (Have you read The book Thief? I think it’d be awsome if they made that into a film!)

    • Nisha says:

      The Historian definitely ranks as one of my top ten favourite books of all time(if not top 5 😉 ). And the Book Thief is actually on one of my bookshelves waiting to be read! 🙂 LOL.

  2. nelle says:

    Thanks for sharing! I would sooooo like to see say… Jodie Foster adapt the Red Tent to film.

    • Nisha says:

      You’re welcome! The Red Tent, you say? I never read it but I can’t imagine Jodie in a historical role. Unfortunately I always see her as a modern-day law-enforcement person type, LOL 😀

  3. Widdershins says:

    I read Portia’s book a while back, and although detailed (this happened, and then this happened, and in graphic detail on occasions) I never really got a sense of any depth of character. Maybe I was expecting something more than a ‘Hollywood Tell-all’ kinda story.

    • Nisha says:

      Oh really, thanks for telling me, at least I know what to expect. I’m a really big fan of hers from Arrested Development and when I saw her on Oprah talking about her book, I identified with her. I never suffered with anorexia or Body Dysmorphic Disorder or anything similar but when it came to self-esteem issues and her relationship with her mother, I could relate.

  4. Barb says:

    You can’t find ghosts, Nisha. They find you.

  5. Well Nisha, a lot going on here. First of all, I liked The Historian but we had it on cd to listen in the car and Will adored it – it was a case of listening to it too many times. I’m wondering what Barb means now about ghosts finding us as I’ve had quite a few strange happenings – how do they find us? Lastly, glad you had such at great time in Manchester as it is my home city, although I no longer live there.

    • Nisha says:

      I think what Barb means(or how I interpret it) is that some people are more susceptible to witnessing paranormal activity than others. In other words they make their appearances known to the person in question. Who knows,there might be a bogeyman standing behind me right now, but just ain’t seeing him 😉

      Oh I didn’t know you were from Manchester! What a lovely city, although I only got to spend a weekend there for the concert. It reminds me of San Francisco because of the trams… 😀

      • It’s quite funny actually when you stay somewhere that has got a really iffy spirit which is loud and there are people with you who don’t normally notice anything. It’s almost as if they are lost for words. If you had ever been where there was a growler you would definitely know the horror bag was there. They are loud and the air is thick with tension. I’m glad you like Manchester.

  6. Martin Shone says:

    1)The Historian is in my top three books 1st is The White Company (Doyle) 2nd Shogun (Clavell) 3rd The Historian (Kostova) I think it’s an excellent book and would love to see the film.
    2) Wuthering Heights
    3)Who?
    4) Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
    5) When we were young our next door neighbour’s house was haunted and they had an exorcist come in and I dream of aliens and of course we are all one 🙂
    6) Sci-Fi Romance and books that say rip roaringly funny when apparently they’re not 🙂
    7) I like biographies and have Judi Dench’s waiting to be read.
    8) Can’t remember :-/
    9) Not read it, but it seems everyone at work has and raves about the sex, but is there a story? I guess there must be and that’s another genre I don’t read.
    10) Kazuo Ishiguro – The Remains of the Day

    Phew! 🙂

    • Nisha says:

      Thanks Martin for your answers!

      I’m sure glad I don’t dream of aliens – are you sure they’re dreams though???? 😛 *cue spooky Twilight Zone music here*
      How exciting about your neighbour, did you get to view the exorcism? 🙂
      I know there was a movie with Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson called Remains of The Day. I’m assuming this is different(?). The Historian and Wuthering heights are excellent books, I highly recommend them 🙂

Leave a Reply

