A mini-rant and some quotes


I feel I need to apologise about my lack of presence on the blogosphere recently. I have been somewhat neglectful of all your posts and tardy with my comments, let alone updating my own.

Without meaning to sound like I’m making excuses, I am blaming it once again on my Internet connection. Yes my Cyberspace woes continue. For weeks I’ve been struggling with a slow connection and webpages taking forever to load. Many a times I’ve felt the urge to hurl my laptop out the window due to my impatience. Of course, I would never do that to Dellboy. (That’s what I named him. Guess what make he is? 🙂 )

I am aware that quite a few people have been experiencing problems recently, not just me. But it’s still frustrating nevertheless. But I will try to catch up on all your blogposts pretty soon. Promise!

In the meantime, I found a few writing quotes for you guys, some funny, some inspirational. Hope you enjoy them!

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” – Jack Kerouac, American novelist and poet.

“Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.” – Stephen King

“There is no money in poetry. But then there’s no poetry in money either.” – Robert Graves, Irish poet

“There’s no such thing as writers’ block. That was invented by people in California who couldn’t write.” – Terry Pratchett (Major LOL! Ha ha – NM)

“It took me 15 years to discover I had no talent for writing. But I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous.” Robert Benchley, American writer and actor.

“I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. I never in my wildest dreams expected this popularity. There’s no formula.” – JK Rowling

“A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.”
― Thomas Mann, German writer and Nobel Prize Laureate.

“There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately no-one knows what they are.” – W.Somerset Maugham, English playwright and novelist.

“So what? All writers are lunatics!” – Cornelia Funke, German fiction writer.

NM 🙂

11 thoughts on “A mini-rant and some quotes

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Nishaaaaaaa!!!! xD I always get so excited when your name pops up in my inbox with a new blog post. I miss your presence on the blogosphere.

    Dellboy ha ha, nice one. Slow internet drives me round the bend. I’m really lucky that I don’t have many problems with my laptop, our ancient home PC however is a different story. It takes about half an hour just to load the desktop, let alone actually trying to use the web! And it often comes up with a message saying ‘Kill Pages’ like whoa! I know it’s a slow connection but do we really need to result to violence? Computers have such a James Bond-esk vocabulary. It’s always ‘kill’ this or ‘terminate’ that. It’s enough to cause a nervous disposition.

    Love the Thomas Mann and Robert Benchley quotes. 🙂 Could of used that JK Rowling quote a couple of weeks back actually…..had to do a 1,500 word essay on if creative writing could be taught lol.

    • Nisha says:

      Awww, thank you Beckster, so wonderful to know someone actually misses my silly blog, hahaha! 🙂

      That’s weird, I don’t get any belligerent messages like that. My PC just freezes up and says nothing. Like in a relationship were the woman says nothing when she’s angry and just walks away…LOL. 😛
      I would love to read your essay and see your thoughts on that. Creative writing-can it be taught? Now that’s a debate that will never get old.

  2. nelle says:

    Good quotes. I particularly like the ones by King, Rowling, Funke, and Pratchett. Octavia Butler once said success in writing is a function of persistence and effort (paraphrased.) The more one writes, at least if we assume the writer seeks out information on various things, the better the writer gets.

    I hope your connectivity issues work out soon. You are missed.

    • Nisha says:

      So very, very true. The more you write, the better you will get. I’ve noticed that evolution with my own writing too(well, I’m hoping I’m getting better, LOL 🙂 )

      My internet is still very slow, but I’m working my way through my emails and everyone’s blogposts. Albeit slowly, 😛

  3. So fun, Nisha! I love the Maugham and Kerouac quotes especially.

  4. Widdershins says:

    Excellent bunch of quotes!!!!

  5. Hope to see you regularly soon gal.
    “A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” , I think I am a writer then LOL 🙂

  6. Hope your internet gets sorted out soon. I haven’t been on much either as I’ve been catching up on other stuff. I love your posts so tell the internet to pull its socks up.

Leave a Reply

