Changes and makeovers


Don’t be alarmed. For some of you reading this from your emails or Reader, you’re probably wondering who the hell this person is and when did you start following them but like I said, don’t be alarmed, my blog was in serious need of a makeover, so here it is.

The timing is not accidental. Last month was my two year blog anniversary which WordPress was kind enough to inform me about. And also this, boys and girls, happens to be my 100th post! WooHoo!

So, it is a double milestone but the need for change also got me thinking about the choices that we make. And I’m not talking about big, life-changing decisions here. I’m talking about the little things, things that might seem insignificant in the grand scheme of things but actually reveal a lot about who we are, our tastes and attitudes and how we present ourselves in cyberspace. Our Facebook pictures, the wallpaper on our Twitter profiles, even the passwords we create and of course, the themes we choose for our blogs. 😉

blog screenshot (2)

Now I’m not the type that settles for the first thing that I see. I love to customize and change things to suit me so it’s strange that everything (apart from the green background which I chose later on) was exactly what was ‘given’ to me when I first joined WordPress. It was the default theme and default head picture. I guess it was expected of me to change it but I didn’t. I kept it as is. But I did have a reason.

When I first saw the picture, a certain book sprang to mind and I saw it as a sign.

My aim in starting this blog was to journal my thoughts on my writing, my short stories, to monitor my progress and to learn from others. I thought it fitting therefore that the figure of the lone man walking down the country path surrounded by trees looked a lot like the cover of M.R James’ Collected Ghost Stories, one of my favourite books ever. I don’t think I talk about Montague Rhodes James too often but I consider him one of my favourite authors on the strength of this book alone. Obviously the book cover is not as warm and pastoral as my former blog theme picture but the similarities were still there. Hence the reason for keeping it.

M.R James

That was two years ago and this is now. Change is good and I thought the name should go as well. In Verbum Scriptum means the ‘the written word’. There’s power in the written word, whether it be fiction or non-fiction, and there can only be progress once you write things down.

It was also strange that I chose green before, as it’s not one of my favourite colours. Perhaps it went with the picture. Purples and blues are my favourite colours however, so there you have it.
Hope you like it. I’m still experiencing some teething problems with this new theme so I will still be making some changes like a new picture header and so forth, but tell me what you think in the mean time…

So tell me, bloggers, what was the motivation for the blog theme you currently have? Is it as sentimental as mine was?

NM :)

21 thoughts on “Changes and makeovers

  1. Love your new blog, you almost got deleted from my emails as I didn’t know it was you. Looking forward to all your future posts.

    • Nisha says:

      LOL, yes I figured most of my friends would be confused and I have a feeling a few must have deleted it already *facepalm* But glad you didn’t, Michelle 😉 And glad you’re okay 🙂

  2. Marc Schuster says:

    Coincidentally, I just changed the themes on my blogs this week, too. (Maybe it’s a new form of Spring cleaning!) I made a new website for myself, and someone suggested making my blogs look similar to my website so that visitors have a seamless experience going from one to the next. So I figured I might as well give it a try. At the very least, it gave me a chance to feature my own art more prominently on all of my blogs!

    • Nisha says:

      Hey Marc, you’re right, it is like spring-cleaning in a way, a fresh new start. I also think it’s a good idea to have all your sites look similar, because you are branding yourself and readers will be able identify you more easily. Hope your changes were as effortless as mine, I’m still struggling with mine…

  3. Martin Shone says:

    This was the first theme I used when I joined WordPress 🙂 I do like it. I like the simple ones the best. I don’t have any sentimental reasons for my choices except for them to be easy to navigate for the reader, which of course is the most important thing really. I still have yet to find a good photo theme, I’ve been through several and the one I have now is OK but not fully what I want.

  4. Widdershins says:

    WTG with 100 posts!

    Purple text on black block colour on dark blue background for the header? Hard to see. Otherwise, wundebar!!!

    I chose my current template because of the layout. Text column to the left, widgets to the right. The rest is all customising.

    • Nisha says:

      I know exactly what you mean Widders, I’m kind of annoyed because I really like this theme but I’m having trouble with making changes. My initial fonts were all different- the colours, size of the blog title(was much bigger) and the fonts themselves, but the changes could not be saved so I’m stuck with the originals for now. I’m learning how to use CSS so I can make the necessary changes.
      My previous theme had the widgets on the right too. This one has it on the left. Initially it felt weird so I had the option to have it on the right like how I was used to but it didn’t look ‘right’ LOL 😉 so I changed it back. Customisation is hard work! 🙂

  5. beckyday6 says:

    You’re right, I was really confused when I saw this in my email, lol. Change is good, but it isn’t always easy, at least that’s what I’ve been finding. I have gone to change my blog theme so many times to one that reflects how I have grown and changed as a blogger, but I always manage to find something about a new one that isn’t quite right – the widgets bars in the wrong place, the text is weird etc, I’m so fussy! And every time I’m close to changing it I start feeling like it’s not my blog because it’s not what it looks like! My theme is also the first one I was given but mine was white like yours and I changed it to black, and I changed the background and the header so it feels pretty personalized to me. It doesn’t have much sentimentality attached other than that my header and gravatar is from one of my past diaries lol, I was writing in candle light because the power went out. 😛

    Have fun playing around with your new theme. 🙂

    P.S. Wow, the two pictures really are similar!

    P.P.S. Is Verbum Scriptum Latin?

    • Nisha says:

      Oh Beckster, you’re so right, I usually like customising but this one gave me hells(as you can see from my reply to Widdershins)! Couple that with temperamental internet connection and I was ready to throw Dellboy out the window again! 😦
      I’m also incredibly fussy too, which makes the customization a tad more difficult, LOL.
      I absolutely love your blog design, you must know. Especially the embossed floral wallpaper. If I didn’t like you so much I would probably have stolen it from you, he he, just joking 😉
      I was always meaning to ask about your gravatar, the effect of the candle is beautiful 🙂 I still keep some of my old diaries because of the pictures too…

      P.S I’m glad you think the pics look similar, I was afraid nobody might think so!

      PSS. Latin it is! I initially wanted to call my blog, the Latin equivalent of Words On The Page/paper which is Verba in Charta but I thought it sounded odd 😛

  6. nelle says:

    Looking good… I have to find you on FB one of these days.

    I’ve been blogging for 8 years, with 21 months removed for time at you-know-where. I’m not blogging much at all now, mainly because novel stuff is tapping my energy for its purposes. I’ve had so many designs, first on blogger, then the paid account on TypePad, and then WordPress. I settled on the plain white for a long time as sort of an anti-distraction, but recently just wished to invert, added a hint of gold, and I liked it. A bit of photoshop effects, and…

    It’s a lot of fun, for someone who doesn’t have an artistic bone in her body, can’t even draw a decent stick figure cat, it looks like an assemblage of water balloons.

    Anyway, I like your design, and like the gradient.

    • Nisha says:

      I didn’t know you were on FB, I’ll look for you when I’m on there next…

      LOL, I just realised so many people go through theme changes and this was my first one ever in over two years! 🙂 I absolutely love the new darker look of your blog Nelle. The gold is very sophisticated but I’m especially digging the light refelctive orbs on the left hand side- that really caught my eye! 🙂

      And thank you, the theme is called Dusk to Dawn denoting the gradient 🙂

      • nelle says:

        I like it… and was enamoured with the light to dark of sky as a child. I can recall staring at an image of it for a long time, it provoked all kinds of imaginings. And thanks… my gold is a bit orangy perhaps, but…

        I’ll see if I can find you on fb.

  7. trixfred30 says:

    Looks great – very creative!

  8. DebE says:

    Oh, looks cool! I love the transition from blue to yellow/peach. Might have to steal that! heh.
    Seriously, though, my first consideration in selecting my current theme was readability. And in that vein it’s rather boring!!

  9. Daniel says:

    I think appearances should give a clue to the content. In a personal blog, it should be the color you feel inside. In my case, I wanted people to know up front that the lights are dim, the floorboards creak, and the topics are thoughtful but questioning.

Leave a Reply

