Updates and blog sabbaticals


You know when you meet a friend after a very long time and you haven’t spoken to each other? And so many things have happened in that time- you probably got married and divorced, twice; wrote a book(ahem), gone through three different jobs etc, etc. So when said friend inevitably asks, “What have you been up to?” your facial expression resembles a deer in the headlights because you have no idea how or where to begin.

This is exactly how I feel right now, writing this blogpost. This blog has been gathering dust for almost a year and a half. It’s pathetic I know but it reflects how my life has been for the past year. One roller-coaster ride after another which includes in a nutshell: completion of my qualification, starting a new job, moving into a new place, lots of travelling(not the fun kind), a home invasion and the usual madness that comes with teaching in a semi-rural school with large classes.

I don’t even want to touch on my many WIP’s. I did do a little writing last year but not enough to absolve myself of shame. 2015 was a crazy year in my defence. It was like a bombardment of sorts and I am surprised I was still left standing at the end of it. The consolation (or should I say reward) was my much-deserved trip to Cape Town in December. Definitely the highlight of my year.

But I still want to apologise to my blogger friends for not keeping in touch and not reading your blogs. I missed you guys terribly. I miss the writing world terribly (I’m pretty sure the Devil has my soul in a box somewhere).

I do resolve to change things though. They might not be big changes but it’s better than nothing. If time allows it I will blog more. And of course write more.

In the meantime I’d like to know what everyone has been up to. What is going on with your WIP’s? Have you published anything? Any developments in the publishing (traditional or self-publishing) world I should know about? What books are you reading?

Let me know, I want to hear! Good riddance to 2015, welcome 2016!

NM 🙂

10 thoughts on “Updates and blog sabbaticals

  1. Widdershins says:

    Hey there …welcome back to the blog-O-sphere! 🙂

    The highlight of a rather blah year filled with doctors appointments for both of us, was a road trip in our brand new RV from the west coast of Canada, where we live, to Niagara Falls and back again. 10,000 kilometers in 31 days. 19 different campsites, a whole lotta adventures, and two middle-aged broads figuring it out as they go!

    I tell all, mostly, on my blog – under the 2015 road trip category. 😀

    • Nisha says:

      Hi Widders!
      I love roadtrips!!! That sounds so exciting, and for one whole month too. I’ve heard Niagara is beautiful. Hope you enjoyed yourself. You definitely deserved it.

  2. nelle says:

    A home invasion? My gosh… you’ve got me a tad worried, if after the fact.

    I’ve not blogged, either. My writing is all novel focused, both on drafting novel two and refining novel one. There was work, now ended, and the associated new search.

    • Nisha says:

      Yeah it happened in August. Long story too. We’ve moved out since, so it’s been stressful but hey, what doesn’t kill you… 😉
      Blogging is cool but your WIP is obviously more important so it’s great that you are making progress.

      • nelle says:

        I’m glad you’re safe. If you ever feel up to telling the story in the LWF group, please do… I’m certain 29 other women would love to read about your experience.

  3. Nisha!!! You have been missed. I get exactly what you mean about it being hard to return to blogging after a long break. Everything feels awkward when it used to feel natural. I’ve been struggling with it a bit myself lately. I keep leaving big absences between posts.

    I can’t believe you had a home invasion, that’s terrifying. 😦 I hope you guys are okay. Sorry to hear the writing’s been put on hold as well, but I’m sure you’ll go back to it when you’re ready. 🙂

    As for me? 2015 was actually a really good year. I graduated from university with 1st class honours and at the top of my class (and 10th in the whole university!!!!) I found myself a boyfriend. I started learning to drive, got a job. I went to my first bookish convention event and even managed to travel a bit as well, going to the town on books in Wales, and visiting Belgium, Amsterdam and Paris. I guess you could say little Beckster is all grown up. 🙂

    I hope 2016 is better for you!

    • Nisha says:

      Beckster! Sorry it’s been almost a month. Life, you know. *facepalm*
      I’m so glad that 2015 was a great year for you, the Great Beckster is indeed growing up!
      1st class honours? Sorry, can’t say I’m surprised to hear that, you’re one of the smartest peeps I know.
      Awww, and Beckster found love too! Hope he treats you right otherwise I’m coming there with my baseball bat(I don’t own one but I’ll get one). ;D
      Travelling is one of life’s greatest teachers. Cherish those moments and plan for more while you’re still young because as Gandalf says, “Life isn’t in your books and maps, it’s out there.”
      Keep in touch, so I know how things are going.

  4. ArtiPeeps says:

    Glad to see you out and about and writing again Nisha. Warm wishes, Nicky

  5. Finally had the mind to write later this year. OK. This is off the wall. I have been training for an ironman. In between I am trying to organize, edit, rewrite a couple of memoir type books. I have found the theme of each book to be a problem because the life I have lead has had a lot of themes. Finding one to thread the book together has been one of my challenges. I blog and it keeps me feeling like I am at least staying in the game.

    • Nisha says:

      I know what you mean Marvin. When I used to blog regularly I felt in touch with the writing world and felt a sense of belonging. Now there’s a disconnection.
      Good luck with your memoirs, at least you’re writing. Keep at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

