DAY 18 – Book you most embarrassed to say you like


There is this long-standing debate amongst writers: can creativity be taught? Can you really study to become a good writer?

Many writers go for creative writing courses and the most famous authors in the world have at least a Bachelors Degree in English, so maybe there’s some significance in this fact? Then again, Stephanie Meyer has an English Degree and she can’t write for doggie poo. (Oh come on, I’m not being mean, we all know it’s true, even Stephen King said so.)

I, being the stubborn mule that I am, refuse to take any creative writing courses. Don’t get me wrong, when it comes to syntax and grammar, you can never learn too much. Relevant courses relating to these will be beneficial to anyone wanting to improve their use of language. I’m talking here about actual creativity and the concept and development of ideas in the writing of that book.
My pride (or is it ego?) tells me I know what I’m doing and because I always believe I know what’s best for me, this same pride has me refusing to get any help. Or has it? And this is where I shot myself in the foot without even realizing it.
Just because you don’t physically attend a seminar on how to write a novel that doesn’t mean there aren’t any other educational sources/tools that can teach you to.

And this is where my cheeks go crimson, as I reveal hesitantly, the two books that are currently helping me on my journey.

Writing A Novel by Nigel Watts in the Teach yourself series is a bit more sophisticated than the “For Dummies” range.

I really, really like this book. I bought it when I first dabbled with the idea of writing a book but didn’t take it too seriously. But years later it has found its place on my bedside table. Even though my current work in progress is a collection of short stories, I do have a novel I started (well sort of), and after the Collection is complete I plan to get cracking with it. And when that happens I can see this book being like a Bible to me.
Despite its title, certain tips are quite general and can apply to any piece of writing and he always makes references and comparisons to short stories which really helps me in particular. There are exercises designed to get those creative juices flowing but also to aid in the writing of your book with regards to characterization, plot developments and dialogue etc.

So as much as it kills me to say I have this book in my possession, never mind actually liking it, it is a great source of comfort to me. NB. My ego is currently munching on a big fat slice of humble pie as you read this.

Another similar book I like is Write That Book Already! by Sam Barry and Kathi Kamen Goldmark.

The title however is a bit misleading. Reading the cover, you assume it is a motivational piece to get you writing and overcoming dreaded writers’ block. But most of the book is actually dedicated to the aftermath of the completion of your work. Information on submitting manuscripts, dealing with agents, the marketing world and book tours are all dealt with here (Btw this is the book that gave me the idea to start a blog, and hoorah! Here we are!).
I must admit that Write That Book Already! also gave me a reality shock. If you have a fairytale view of what it takes to get published, this book will shatter all those idealistic impressions. It is humorous but brutally honest at the same time. If after reading it, you are still not deterred, then you know you are on the right path!

So now you know what arrogant, know-it-all Nisha is using to help her on her journey. Just don’t tell anyone, will you…?

NM 🙂

3 thoughts on “DAY 18 – Book you most embarrassed to say you like

  1. I don’t believe there is anything wrong at all in trying to “learn” creativity, in fact, many exercises suggested in those types of books I find very useful. No shame, Nisha, no shame! 🙂

  2. Go for it Nisha. All the creative writing books in the world cannot concoct or teach your passion for literature, your honesty or your style. Just keep writing and you will get there.

Leave a Reply

