The Versatile Blogger Award – Part 1


Woo Hoo!! This is is my 50th post and I couldn’t have wished for a better way to celebrate. Last month Lovely Louise (as I call her in my head) awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award (otherwise known as the Verseys). To accept a Versey, a set of rules need to be followed. I need to:

1. Thank the person who gave me the award and link back to them in my post
2. Tell 7 things about myself that others might not know about me.
3. Pass along the award to 15 newly discovered bloggers (I’m going with 9 here, sorry).
4. Contact these bloggers to let them know they’ve received the award.

First things first, about Louise Jaques.
I’ve known Louise for about 2 months now but after only a week, I already declared her my kindred spirit (except she’s much younger and better looking). You can check her out over at My Other Book is a Tolstoy. She is startlingly intelligent for a young woman her age and her blog posts reflect this. Have you ever met someone and had this overwhelming feeling that they were destined for great things? Well that’s how I feel about Louise and this is all the more reason I feel honoured to receive a Versey from her, thank you sweetheart!

As if the nature of blogging isn’t narcissistic enough, I am now required to reveal 7 things you might not know about me. Okay, here we go…

1) I’m a herbal/flavoured tea addict. People cannot understand how I can drink green tea. Well I can’t understand how they can drink normal tea with its gross tannin after-taste.
My favourite flavour however is peppermint, but also like Jasmine, English Breakfast and Earl Grey.

2) I like to knit. Yes, I’m in my twenties but there is something therapeutic about the craft. When I’m feeling stressed or anxious, knitting while listening to an audiobook, is the most relaxing thing in the world to me.

3) I used to be an amateur ghost-hunter.
This is kind of a joke but I’m still very proud of this for some reason. When I lived in Scotland, I belonged to a ghost-hunting group but we weren’t very professional like the way proper parapsychologists are. The only equipment we had were camcorders, cameras, flashlights and walkie-talkies. We would visit haunted sites and hold short vigils at night or if it was during the day we would have a picnic. Like I said, not very serious but still loads of fun.
One of my short stories, Vigils at Yester, is somewhat autobiographical and based on these experiences but unlike in my story, we never experienced anything out of the ordinary and I, myself, have never seen anything spooky. Thank God.

4) I get star-struck very easily. I become paralyzed and get the chills when I see someone famous in person. Whereas most normal human beings find it very easy to run up to a celebrity and ask for their autographs, the very thought of me doing the same leaves me in a catatonic state.

5) I get very, very scared when I watch horror movies. Yes, me, the great Ghostbuster and bragger of how knowledgeable she is about the horror genre, has to close her eyes when the chilling, ominous music reaches its crescendo. It’s all a façade, people. Inside I’m one great, big chicken!

6) When I was 12, I tried to write an autobiography of Michael Jackson.
I was a huge MJ fan back then and I still think he’s a legend (May his soul rest in peace) and who better qualified to tell the King of Pop’s story than little ol’ me? Ha ha, not surprisingly my only sources of information were an unauthorized movie of his life and a little bit of knowledge gleaned from reading music magazines. After writing about 6 pages, I realized it was a joke and scrapped the project.

7) I have a strong penchant for owls and fairies. I have no idea if they exist or not but I love looking at fairy pictures and fairy ornaments. As for owls, they are definitely my favourite birds. Any creature that can turn their head almost 360 degrees like Linda Blair in the Exorcist is worthy of admiration.

There you go, now you know me a little better. Tomorrow I shall present my own Verseys to the bloggers I think excel in the art of awesomeness. It’s going to be an Awards presentation with a twist, so don’t miss it….

NM 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award – Part 1

  1. F. says:

    Loved learning more about you!

    1. ME TOO. I should post a picture of my tea collection. It’s driving my mother nuts.
    2. Um maybe you have great finger/brain coordination because I can’t knit to save my life.
    3. Interesting… spooky though!
    4. Haha, I’m the total opposite. I see a famous person and I have a moment of “WOW, is that —?” Then I get back to my coffee, books, phone call, whatever.
    5. Again.. ME TOO!
    6. That is awesome. Post it, post it.
    7. You’re funny 😀

    • Nisha says:

      Oh good, I’m happy you enjoyed that.
      I’m glad I’m not the only flavoured tea-drinker around! Post my feeble attempt at MJ’s bio? If only I could find it! I think I binned. It was so long ago, I’m pretty sure the paper it’s been written on has been recycled 10 times over! 🙂

  2. […] been awhile since my Versatile Blogger Award and I’ve met so many great bloggers since then. Of these, I’ve chosen my top 5, in no particular […]

Leave a Reply

